God Speaks Through Dreams (Dreams Part 3)

It’s been a few weeks since I posted Part 2 of my dream series. The exciting news is that my earthquake dream has been unfolding before my eyes. I can’t share the details at this time but some very exciting things are happening in my family. The foundation shook and the chains are coming loose. Acts 16:26

Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.

John 8:32 (NIV)

Even as I type, God is revealing a few key elements of a dream I had a few months ago. That’s why I’m so exciting about dream interpretation. God reveals elements in His time.

Sometimes a dream interpretation is quite literal. For example, I dreamed about my husband and the next day I met him. Often times a dream is decoded almost like a puzzle.

Last fall I when I worked as a pastor for abused women, dreamed I was having a miscarriage. I didn’t initially recognize this as a prophetic dream. After several physical miscarriages, I thought it might be something I still needed to work through. Then I dreamed about another miscarriage, slightly different from the first and I began to worry. “Maybe God is calling you to quit or abort something,” a friend said.

I was so wrapped up in this ministry that it took God telling me numerous times. The last ‘miscarriage’ depicted something rolled up in newspaper. God said, “I have news for you, you’re too wrapped up in this. I have another assignment for you. Abort this mission.” Wow. I struggled with leaving the ministry in which I’d invested so much of my heart, time and energy. Yet, I awaited God’s timing. Then one night as I was locking up the church, God clearly told me, “Your tour of duty is over; report to home base to await deployment.”

For God does speak—now one way, now another— though man may not perceive it. In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falls on men as they slumber in their beds, he may speak in their ears and terrify them with warnings, to turn man from wrongdoing and keep him from pride, to preserve his soul from the pit, his life from perishing by the sword. Job 33:14-18 (NIV)

Don’t worry that you’ve imagined your dream. Dreams that occur while you are in REM sleep are out your control. When God speaks to you through a dream, He is bypassing your mind to speak directly to your spirit. Your dreams may be warnings of things to come, issues in your life that need addressing or simply encouragement.

God will use any means necessary and He knows the best way to contact you. Your expectations on how God can communicate with you may limit your hearing. Allow Him to speak to you through whatever means He chooses. So tonight as you drift off to sleep, ask Him to speak to you through your dreams.

Stay tuned for more on dreams.

8 thoughts on “God Speaks Through Dreams (Dreams Part 3)

  1. I love that God speaks to you through dreams! He speaks to my husband the same way. I very rarely remember my dreams, so I am in awe of messages that remain intact in the morning. What a blessing!

  2. Even as a young girl I have been interested in dreams and I find I have less and less of them as I grow up. God is awesome in His way of communicating with each one of us. Knowing He isn’t too big to care and communicate is such an uplift!

  3. Excellent thoughts here Jan. I love that you are open to God’s speaking to you how HE chooses. Can’t wait for part 4!

  4. Thanks for a great series, Jan. I don’t think we talk about this as much as we should. We need to be open to all the ways in with God speaks to us.

  5. Wow, I love this.I keep having some rather bizarre dreams, but now that I try to say something about them, I can’t remember them. Oh well, I’m sure the next piece will come tonight.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19