Biblical Dreams (Dreams Part 4)

As I studied the Word, I was amazed at how many times God spoke to people through dreams in both the Old and New Testament. When He began to increase my spiritual dreams, I prayed for wisdom, knowledge, and discernment to spot the counterfeits. I also began to search scripture for answers to my questions. I felt a stirring in my spirit and I knew God had something for me in this.

Dreams in the Bible
Genesis 20:3 – God warned Abimelech about Sarah
Genesis 28:11- 15 – Jacobs’s stairway reaching up to heaven
Genesis 31:24 – God warned Laban not to say anything to Jacob
Genesis 37:5-7 – Joseph’s sheaves of grain
Genesis 37:9-11 – Joseph’s moon and stars
Genesis 40: 8-13 – Pharaohs cup bearers dream
Genesis 40: 16-19 – Pharaohs chief bakers dream
Genesis 41:1-4 – Pharaoh’s seven fat cows
Genesis 41: 5-7 – Pharaoh’s seven heads of grain
Judges 7:13-15 –Midianites loaf of barley
1 Kings 3: 5-15 – Solomon chooses wisdom
Job 4: 12- 21 – a spirit speaks to Eliphaz
Daniel 7 – Daniel’s dream of four beasts and interpretation
Matthew 1:20-21 – Declaring Mary’s innocence to Joseph
Matthew 2:13 – Warning Joseph to escape to Egypt
Matthew 2:19-20 – Mary and Joseph return to Nazareth
Matthew 27:19 – Pilots wife warned about Jesus
Acts 16:9 – Paul’s call to Macedonia

Are you as fascinated with dreams as I am?

1.
Study Biblical dreams
2. Ask God to lead you to the right study resources
3. Keep a dream journal – leaving an extra page for interpretation
4. Ask God to speak to you through dreams
5. Ask Him for dream interpretation
6. Be patient and wait on Him for revelation

As you study the Word and listen to His voice, God will see your commitment and increase your dreams.


In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams. Acts 2:17 (NIV)

Stay tuned for more on Dreams.

10 thoughts on “Biblical Dreams (Dreams Part 4)

  1. I am still a little haunted by my dreams. I really get a little frightened when I think about them. I haven’t had another one so maybe it is over. I would love to know if means something, a warning or whatever. I am enjoying your posts!lori

  2. I think many people don’t put stock into their dreams today. They are afraid it might have something to do with witchcraft or the likes. I love that fact that you spent so much time in showing through Scripture that God speaks to us through dreams. Keep up the great work that you are doing, Jan.

  3. I would so love for God to speak to me through dreams. I ask Him to all the time. Maybe He does and I miss it.

  4. Aha, I just figured out that you have two blogs! I enjoy both of them. :~)I’m going to order one of the books you recommended on a previous post. Over the years, I’ve had several “big” (or prophetic) dreams, but they are few and far between. I’m printing your joke “Holy Land Burial” at Caregiver’s Corner. Too cute!Blessings.

  5. What do you think, please, of Obadiah Shoher’s interpretation of the story? (here: samsonblinded.org/blog/genesis-37.htm ) He takes the text literally to prove that the brothers played a practical joke on Yosef rather than intended to murder him or sell him into slavery. His argument seems fairly strong to me, but I’d like to hear other opinions.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

