The Fragrance of Rain

Every now and again, I love a rainy day, especially today. I’m holed up in my office (or as my grandbaby calls it, “our” office), the rain softly pelts my bay window, the street lamps are on though it’s quite early, and I take in few deep cleansing breaths. How I love the fragrance of rain. As the thunder rolls in and out, I envision my stress chasing the thunder, leaving behind only peace.

As usual, I am multitasking as I write – reminiscing on Facebook about canned Spam and looking at photos of my two kids and their spouses on a camping trip. Laundry is tumbling in the dryer, my husband is watching one of his shows on TV and life seems pretty sweet.

It’s been a long, hot summer so I’m grateful for the rain. Here in Colorado, we’ve broken numerous heat records. The high temperatures along with the dry thundershowers ignited numerous wild fires. This rain represents a respite from the arid heat; it’s washing away the dust and smoke, leaving behind a glorious fragrance.

Thank you God for answered prayer – which feeds our thirsty souls as well as our scorched land.

3 thoughts on “The Fragrance of Rain

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

