The Joy of the Lord by Kim Woodhouse

Thank you, Jan, for hosting me on your blog today. My prayer is that each person who reads our story, Welcome Home: Our Family’s Journey to Extreme Joy, will see the Joy of the Lord – even in the midst of the most trying of circumstances. Come along with me as we laugh, cry, and rejoice.

When I wrote this blog post, my sweet husband, Jeremy, was busy cooking dinner for me for Mother’s Day. He’s a gem.

Some of you may know about my “adventures,” and the trials we’ve endured as a family. But my goal in life is to laugh my way through – to find the joy – the joy of the Lord, in it all. Life is hard, but God’s joy cannot be taken away. I remind myself of that a lot.

I’m always reminded on the special occasion of Mother’s Day of the miscarriages I had. The reminders come often enough throughout the year, but Mother’s Day always brings back the rush of feelings and emotions. I have several people really close to me who have gone through the same devastating circumstances this past year. There are no words for it, nothing to “do” about the grief, but cling to the Lord.

It’s hard. Really hard.

But each time, each remembrance, each friend who goes through a similar loss – I’m reminded of the joy of the Lord. Just like it states in I Peter 1- my home is not of this world, I’m an alien residing here. I’m looking forward to the day when I get to see my Savior face to face. When I will get to see my loved ones that I’ve lost. When I will finally be mature and complete, not lacking anything -like it says in the book of James.

So, life is not going to be easy, it’s not going to be a bowl of cherries. It’s going to be hard, really hard. Full of trials, full of heartache, full of tough times.

But God is there. Always. His joy is there – waiting for me to grab onto it.

I have a wonderful family who put up with me and love me in spite of my craziness. I praise the Lord for what He has done in my life, and for the stretching and growing that He has brought me through. I praise Him for the good times, and for the bad. And I thank Him for His joy which is unchanging, and unending, and available constantly.

Kimberley Woodhouse is a wife, mother, author, and musician with a quick wit and positive outlook despite difficult circumstances. A popular speaker, she’s shared at more than 600 venues across the country. Kimberley and her family’s story have garnered national media attention for many years, but most recently her family was chosen for ABC’s Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, The Montel Williams Show, and Discovery Health channel’s Mystery ER. Welcome Home: Our Family’s Journey to Extreme Joy, releases from Tyndale House Publishers September first. In addition to her non-fiction, she also writes romantic suspense and children’s books. Kimberley lives, writes, and homeschools in Colorado with her husband and two children in their truly “extreme” home. www.kimberleywoodhouse.com

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

