Incest Part 6 – The Key to Healing

Forgiveness is the key to healing; it will unlock the shackles of your past and set you free. If you want to truly be free, you must walk down the path of forgiveness. Forgive God, yourself, your perpetrator and those who failed to protect you. It is not something you are doing for THEM; you are doing it for YOU. Unforgiveness keeps you in perpetual bondage. You are tied to your perpetrator as long as you carry that anger, hatred, hurt and bitterness. The truth is – you will never be healed or delivered until you are ready to forgive.

The hot temper of a fool eventually kills him; the jealous anger of a simpleton does her in. Job 5:2 (MSG)

Don’t insist on getting even; that’s not for you to do. “I’ll do the judging,” says God. “I’ll take care of it.” Romans 12:19 (MSG)

Not feeling it? That’s OK. Forgive by faith. Say it aloud. “By faith I forgive _____________.” Continue to speak it aloud every time the enemy reminds you of the hurt and shame. As you practice confessing forgiveness with your mouth, your feelings will follow.

In prayer there is a connection between what God does and what you do. You can’t get forgiveness from God, for instance, without also forgiving others. If you refuse to do your part, you cut yourself off from God’s part. Matthew 6:14-15 (MSG)

Forgiveness can be a slow and painful process. Make a list of all those you need to forgive and slowly release them one by one. Even the small offenses such as, “I forgive Mary for making fun of my shoes in third grade.” Make a fresh start. Don’t hold onto any of it.

God, make a fresh start in me, shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life. Don’t throw me out with the trash, or fail to breathe holiness in me. Bring me back from gray exile; put a fresh wind in my sails! Psalm 51:10-12 (MSG)

Isn’t it time for a fresh start?

Prayer:
Father, what ______________ did to me was wrong. However, I don’t want to carry this anger any longer. While I do not feel forgiveness, I choose to be obedient to you. I choose to walk in freedom and not bondage. So, by faith, I forgive _______________. I do not base this on my feelings alone. I trust that as I am healed and restored, I will feel the forgiveness I am confessing with my mouth. I release all bitterness and anger. When the enemy reminds me of old hurts, I will confess aloud my forgiveness by faith. Help me not to wallow in negative thinking or play back records of old pain. I pray for your supernatural forgiveness to manifest itself in my life. In Jesus name, Amen.

Read my other posts on incest:

Incest – The Poisonous Secret

Incest Part 2 – PTSD

Incest Part 3 – Let it all Come Out

Incest Part 4 – Cardboard Testimony

Incest Part 5 – We Are Not Alone

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

