Listening to His Voice

Just being with my grand baby, Kamryn, brings me joy. She is one of the best gifts the good Lord has ever given me.

Kamryn was in my arms the other day, and every time I spoke, she turned her head and pressed her ear up to my lips. Even as I spoke to other family members, she tuned in to what I had to say. It did my heart good to discover she was so attentive to the sound of my voice.

I was later contemplating Kamryn’s reaction when the Holy Spirit reminded me that this is the way He wants me to be with Him. What a beautiful picture. I rest in His arms, and whenever He speaks, I turn my head and press my ear to His lips, waiting to hear the loving timbre of His voice. Oh, the pleasure He feels at the attentive way I listen to His voice.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

