Fess Up Friday- Grieving

Photo by Tonya Vander

I thought I was handling this well, but as I sat down with my laptop to write, I realize I’m not. I already miss them. We started as five friends who laughed and prayed and supported one another. Then four, this week it is three, and now it looks like we are soon to be two. Tonya is moving a lot sooner than anticipated. Too soon. I knew it was a season, but it seemed so short. I think I’m doing OK and then it hits me. This week, Megan, my parents and my son and DIL are all on vacation (separately).

I need a vacation. But more importantly, I need time to process and figure out what God has for me next. Grieving is good for a season. The five of us have supported each other through numerous transitions this past year. However, summer is turning into fall and I am running after daylight trying to hold on, all the while understanding the futility. I anticipate a harsh winter, both physically and emotionally. I only pray for the grace and strength to endure.

9 thoughts on “Fess Up Friday- Grieving

  1. Praying for you, Jan. You are never alone. But I do know how difficult it is.I’m sorry to hear that Tonya is leaving, too. I seldom see her, but now I suppose I never will…

  2. Harsh winters precede spring, but I know that’s no real consolation now. I still miss my best friends ever from Florida. God was gracious to heal my marriage and family after separating from those friends. Even more graciously, He’s slowly dropping new friends into my life.I don’t know what He has in store for the five of you, but know that He does. Have plans. And your blogging friends love you!

  3. Cheer up my sister! Were just actors and actresses in God’s plan, His will must be done. He’ll have penty for you, just *wait* and see. Deb

  4. Oh Jan, I won’t be that far away. Yes, farther up north so you might have to drive a little farther so we can have coffee, but we will still meet. Nonetheless, I hear your heart. I will miss the times we got together and had coffee. 🙂

  5. I’m sorry you are grieving Jan. It is very hard to lose those close friendships. Yeah, you can call and email, but it’s not the same. I will pray that God comforts you and in time brings new friends. He is so faithful and gives you just what you need. Bless you dear. Kathi

  6. Gosh Jan, that’s really rough. It is so hard to lose good friends. My heart goes out to you. I pray that the Lord will comfort you and this season will pass quickly and something new and exciting will start. Have a good weekend. Sharon

  7. Oh my gosh honey.I can’t believe it..I’d be so so sad too..I don’t ever want to loose my best friends..EVERlove yaand praying..deena

  8. Jan, dear. I love your heart. You have so much to write about! I am working on three different ideas for books. I need your help… but I also just need encouragement to DO MORE WRITING. This dry time in your life will bring great words to your mind, I am sure of it.The closeness is important, and will be missed, but your friends are not abandoning you simply because their lives move them away. And you have all us bloggy buddies to keep your spirits up, right?

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

