Jan and Greg’s Incredible Car Story

I Have Good New and I have bad news. You’ll have to come back tomorrow for the bad news. I want to tell you the good news first. Now the good news will seem like bad news at first but in the end, it’s good. God works like that sometimes.

We have (had) two older cars, both of them worn and ready to replace. We weren’t sure which should go first but we set the wheels in motion (pun intended) a little over a week ago. We stopped at the Chevy dealership and started talking. Their incentives are fabulous and we settled on a beautiful blue metallic gunmetal (true color name) Tahoe. We loved it, drove it around for a week and were extremely pleased with the purchase, until I took it back to the dealership to install the protective coating on the windshield. That’s when the unthinkable happened – they crashed into an engine hoist while backing up. I know, you NEVER hear about stuff like this happening. It has backup sensors for crying out loud!

I was in shock. I couldn’t believe it. I sent a 911 text to my DH and told him to come to the dealership ASAP. Long story short, we didn’t want the damaged Tahoe, even with the repairs. It only had 300 miles on it! They couldn’t replace that exact truck since the ’08 models are out of production, so we took back our Expedition and called it good. I lost all the time spent on the paperwork, installing low jack, installing the clear bra, etc and we were back to square one with two old vehicles.

This last Friday, it was 98 outside. Greg was off since we were supposed to go out of town (before the Tahoe debacle). This was the second weekend in a row that we tried to go somewhere! Instead, we’re shopping for vehicles. I like the exterior of the Chrysler 300, but I don’t like the interior. Besides, my DH thinks they look like mafia staff cars. It was not Parrishable. (Let me clue you in to the term Parrishable. Since our last name is Parrish, anything we really like is Parrishable. Not perishable, as those out of the loop think we mean. That or they think we’re crazy.)

Rolling with the punches, our salesman, Mike, tells us about the incredible Infinity just traded in – an ’06 M35X with 26000 miles, driven by an old couple (seniors for those of you who think we are old). We saw it while they were replacing windshield. The car looks new, but it’s a cocoa metallic and I was holding out for blue metallic gunmetal. Plus, the interior is black and I thought it would be too hot. It’s nothing like I had in mind for my primary car so I was somewhat skeptical. Did I say it was hot? So we were unmovable in the price and the price we were willing to accept for the trade-in. We discussed terms and said we would be back. Logically, it made sense. The car is loaded and it was a great deal. We were in the right place at the right time. Greg was happy, I was fairly happy, so we bought it.

When we took it to Lookout Mountain on Sunday, I was still pleased with the car until I drove it down the hairpin turns. I can’t believe how well it drove, gripping the road with ease. I don’t like this car – I LOVE THIS CAR! In fact, I no longer need a motorcycle (this will make my mom happy).

Isn’t it great the way God takes a bad situation and turns it around for our good? Even as it was happening, I didn’t realize the extent of God blessing. Has that ever happened to you?

If you haven’t already done so, please sign up for my Summer Reading Giveaway!

8 thoughts on “Jan and Greg’s Incredible Car Story

  1. I can’t believe that happened with the Tahoe. Craziness! I’m glad you got a car that you love. Lovin’ it makes it more fun to drive. 🙂

  2. Way cool! Congratulations! So where’s the story about the bad thing? 🙂 Not that I’m wanting anything bad to happen to you, of course …

  3. Love your car! I can’t imagine how the dealership would crash theother car – but it’s all in the Lord’s timing. Rom 8:28 is certainly true – This is a better car for you to drive.Hugs.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

