Married in Spring Blizzard – Marriage Monday

Our wedding was amazing in spite of the blowing snow and icy conditions. Only very dedicated friends attended. Until just recently, March 5, 1983 was on the list of Denver’s worst blizzards.After the reception, we stopped at my parents to open gifts. When our car became stuck in the snow at the base of the hill, we made a run for it in spite of our wedding attire. (See photo above.)

Our next door neighbor graciously offered us her house for the night and she slept in my old bedroom. My parent’s house was brimming full of out-of- town relatives.

This year we celebrated our 25th. Click here and here to read more. June 7th, our daughter and son in law will celebrate their first anniversary. June 8th, will mark thirty years since we met.

Below are the vows we wrote for each other. Twenty five years later, they still move me to tears and I’m so very thankful for the wonderful man God’s given me.
Greg & Jan – Feb 1983

Jan recites to Greg:

Because our Heavenly Father has brought us together

And because of the deep and abiding love we share,

I take you, Greg, to be my lawfully wedded husband.

To have and to hold from this day forward,

For better for worse,

For richer, for poorer,

In sickness and in health,

To love and to cherish,

Forsaking all others,

‘till death do us part.

As we walk through life hand in hand,

I will always be by your side loving you.

I’ll comfort you when you’re feeling down

And rejoice with you in your happiness.

I will always keep an open, honest communication between us,

Holding nothing from you.

For wither though goest I will go,

And where though lodgest, I will lodge;

Thy people shall be my people and thy God, my God.

This ring is a symbol of my eternal love and devotion.

One of my fav pictures. Preparing to marry the man of my dreams.

Greg recites to Jan:

Because our Heavenly Father has brought us together

And because of the deep and abiding love we share,

I take you, Janet, to be my lawfully wedded wife.

To have and to hold from this day forward,

For better for worse,

For richer, for poorer,

In sickness and in health,

To love and to cherish,

Forsaking all others,

‘till death do us part.

These vows I give you

Come from God and my heart.

I promise to always protect, trust and sacrifice for you.

My love, the very essence of God, will never diminish.

I believe in you as a woman

And all the potential God has given you.

As your husband, I will encourage you

And help you in any way possible to attain

All that God has meant for you.

Throughout our lifetime together,

I promise you my deepest love,

My tenderest care and my complete devotion.

Therefore, Janet, I pledge to you

My life as a loving and faithful husband.

As a symbol of my love,

I give you this ring.

1st Monday Every Month at Chrysalis

16 thoughts on “Married in Spring Blizzard – Marriage Monday

  1. Hi Jan,I’m so glad I stopped by and visited your blog! I agree, your vows brought tears to my eyes as well! I loved the poem you created for your Hub, it speaks volumes in your, “Story of Us”. Your marriage sounds like ours, growing sweeter and stronger with time! Our oldest daughter Jennifer celebtrates her 10th Anniversary on June 5th! Have an awesome day!Hugs,Connie

  2. AWe……are you trying to make me cry here??? LOL! Your vows to each other are very touching! I love the blizzard story! The picture of you two running in the snow is absolutely amazing! That should be used in a magazine or a commercial. How sweet of you neighbor offering her home for the honeymoon night! Wow! Hugs, Sharon

  3. You’re a good-looking couple! Thanks for sharing your precious vows. And thanks for joining us for Marriage Monday, Jan.Blessings, e-Mom

  4. Jan, how sweet is your story. The blizzard, wow! Posting your vows, almost made me cry. You guys have shown that not only staying married can be done, but also loving each other the way you have can be done. You are an awesome example of God’s faithfulness and love.

  5. Ahhh, this was so neat!!! Those vows, oh my…We are going to celebrate our 30th this year. I shared a video of our 25th.Guess what, my son was married on June 8th too! That’s so neat.You two still look GREAT♥Blessing~

  6. ohh..it made me teary eyed as well..I’m just so blessed! Imagine, 25 years and still sooo in love…I love the pictures..I thought it was taken in the studio or something but it was real snow and a blizzard too..:)God bless!!

  7. Wow, what an incredible wedding story! I so enjoyed reading it. Your love for your husband is so evident!You made the most beautiful bride…(And I just love that picture where you’re running in the snow!)Congratulations on 25 years together!Blessings,~Tammy

  8. Your wedding sounds alot like my husbands cousins wedding. They got married in January of 1978. We had a big blizzard that year. The bride arrived at the church on a snow mobile! Wonderful story! Thanks for stopping by!

  9. WOW! That weather looks awful!!However….what beautiful vows you both wrote. It brought tears to my eyes too!May God bless you richly.

  10. Oh no – a blizzard. That makes for a really interesting memory. But, I’m so sorry that some your guests weren’t able to make it to your wedding.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

