What American accent do you have?

What American accent do you have?

Your Result: The West

Your accent is the lowest common denominator of American speech. Unless you’re a SoCal surfer, no one thinks you have an accent. And really, you may not even be from the West at all, you could easily be from Florida or one of those big Southern cities like Dallas or Atlanta.

The Midland

Boston

North Central

The Inland North

Philadelphia

The South

The Northeast

What American accent do you have?
Quiz Created on GoToQuiz

I always tell people I have no accent. This is proof – none, nada, zip. Now if they are from somewhere other than around here, they think I am the one with the accent. LOL. Take the test. It’ll be fun.

6 thoughts on “What American accent do you have?

  1. My accent is very southern. That wasn’t surprising since, with the exception of the eight and a half years spent overseas, I have spent all of my life in the south. 🙂 I enjoy going off to visit but I always come home. L

  2. Even though I am Colorado born and bred I got midland. But it also says I have no accent, which I already knew.I have corrected the way I say a couple of things from how I learned to say them. I wonder if that made a difference?

  3. Jan! I have a Philly accent! Say it ain’t so! I’m from south of New Orleans, went to college in Tulsa, lived in MD and VA for brief bits, then lived in FL for eleven years. Huh?

  4. I have been told that my accent is NOT something, but I have never gotten a definition as to what it WAS. The test said “Philadelphia”. It lumped in Jersey! UGH!!!! I was born in NY, but I only lived there for 6 months, and I don’t talk anything like my aunts, who are obviously from the Northeast.My mom is from KS, and she says PIN and PEN differently, but backwards. It is her hearing damage that makes it sound different to her. If she asked me for a pen, I looked for something sharp, and if she said pin, I got a writing implement. But I don’t mix them in my speech.At least it didn’t say Deep Texas or North Dakota. I don’t carry a Bag (bagel without the EL), and I don’t say “Aboot” when I go out and about.A sad aside, though: I can pick up accents of others if I am not careful. It took me two weeks to get rid of the Texas in my voice, after visiting my cousins for one week.

  5. I always thought I didn’t have an accent and the test agrees…Your Result: The Midland “You have a Midland accent” is just another way of saying “you don’t have an accent.” You probably are from the Midland (Pennsylvania, southern Ohio, southern Indiana, southern Illinois, and Missouri) but then for all we know you could be from Florida or Charleston or one of those big southern cities like Atlanta or Dallas. You have a good voice for TV and radio.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

