Old Fashioned Colloquial Sayings – Thursday Thirteen


I apologize to my friends for whipping out my Hoops and Yoyo notepad and writing these down as they uttered them. I really meant no offense. I love you all.

  1. Six in one and half dozen the other
  2. Don’t that beat all
  3. Fly by night
  4. Not worth their salt
  5. Spilling the beans
  6. Ratting out their friends
  7. Singing like a bird
  8. knee high to a grasshopper
  9. Let’s blow this popsicle stand
  10. Good gravy
  11. Cat out of the bag
  12. Go fly a kite
  13. If they had any brains they’d be dangerous

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

10 thoughts on “Old Fashioned Colloquial Sayings – Thursday Thirteen

  1. I love your post! My granny says, “Land’s sakes child!” How our language evolves is amazing.I just published my post!

  2. I always heard #1 as: Six of one, half a dozen of the other.I have heard a few others:Bees Knees.The cat’s meow.When I would ask, “are we there yet?” my dad would say, “Hide, and watch.” My friend Genny tells me not to tell her sons to hide, because they might try.Oh My Chickens! (this one is from my friends in the Radio station at O.C. – Basketball games were the greatest!)… and my personal fave:Mom’s friend had the perfect answer to “I want (whatever).” She would say, “Well, you may want horns, but you’ll die butt-headed.”

  3. I recognize all those sayings. My favorite is Good Gravy! That was one of my Dad’s sayings! Any thought to having some kind of a sign up so out of state bloggers can participate in the prayer meeting?Have a great evening! Sharon

  4. I loved these! My mother used to spout many of them frequently. I’ve never heard #6 or #10 though… maybe they’re regional. :~D

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

