Prayer – The Soul’s Desire


Prayer is the soul’s desire,

Unuttered or expressed,

The motion of a bidden fire

That trembles in the breast.

Prayer is the burden of a sigh,

The falling of a tear,

The upward glancing of an eye,

When none but God is near.

Prayer is the contrite sinner’s voice,

Returning from his ways,

While angels in their songs rejoice

And cry, “Behold, he prays!”

-James Montgomery

(1771-1854)

Bold & Free Prayer

Tuesday, May 6th @ 1pm

Parker, CO

Please email me for details.

Need Prayer?

Please leave a comment below.

7 thoughts on “Prayer – The Soul’s Desire

  1. What a beautiful poem. How about having a sign up sheet for people who want to pray but cannot attend? Maybe we can sign up for a time slot in a 24 hour period? I would love to participate, but I’m stuck here in Oregon!!! :0) Hugs, Sharon

  2. Amen to the power of prayer.I need your prayer (i’m on the other side of the world) because I am eyeing to take my stateboard exam either last week of May or first week of June. I am still looking for a slot. And I pray that He grants me a better one when I am already prepared. I have been attending the review school since February.It will be my second try already.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

