My New Name

This morning when I woke up, I had no idea my life was about to change forever. I sat up in bed, said my prayers and fell asleep with my hands in my face; a typical day. When I stumbled into the kitchen to grab my coffee, I began to perk up but my stomach felt a bit queasy. The coffee didn’t stay down. I felt fine after that and grabbed a slice of toast for breakfast.

On Tuesday’s, I wake up early to attend my writers group. After the meeting we went to lunch, followed by Starbucks and a brief shopping excursion. I had a fabulous day with my BFF’s, and was on my way home with dinner groceries when I got the call.

“Did you get Matt’s text?” my DH, Greg asked.

“No. I was on the other line. Why? What’s up?”

“It says, “In seven months Duke (University) will have a new fan.””

Silence. Shock. Disbelief.

Is it possible? This would be a cruel joke.

“I’ll call you back. I’m calling Beth to see what this is all about.”

While I called Bethany, Greg called Matt.

“Are you getting another dog?”

“No.”

“Are you having a baby?”

“Yes.”

I cried, screamed and laughed. I was so ecstatic, I don’t remember too many details. We arranged to meet them for a celebratory dinner. Greg came from work. I probably wasn’t in any condition to drive. I met them at the restaurant in record time.

Later, I realized that my early morning sickness was prophetic. I’m going to be a gramma! Our grand baby was announcing his presence, just as his mother did nearly twenty-four years ago.

Top photo, Beth& Matt’s engagement photo Dec 2005, wedding shot June 2007, Pregnancy announcement shot April 2008. We thought it was appropriate that it was extremely windy both days. The baby is due in November.

Congratulations Bethany and Matt!

26 thoughts on “My New Name

  1. OH My Gosh!!!You are gonna LOVE being a grammy!!and how far away will they be??Oh I am so happy for you and them!!Life IS sweet, isn’t it.For a minute, I thought YOU might be having a babeOHH……..love ya honey,your friend.!!gramma Deena

  2. CONGRATULATIONS GRAMMIE!!!this is such an exciting announcement…there is nothing more precious than a grand baby!!!

  3. Yea!!!! Congratulations Jan! How very wonderful! I am so happy and excited for you! This is awesome! You will have sooooo much fun! Isn’t God neat the way that He blesses us! It’s funny how you woke up with a queasy stomach!Praise the Lord, the world needs more children raised in good homes!Love, Sharon

  4. Congratulations Grandma!! What a wonderful new phase of life you are entering. All the love and joys without the discipline (okay, not as much). Have you thought of what you want to be called?

  5. Congratulations!! I am so happy for you all!I’m not sure if I want to hang out with a grandma, though. Might make me feel old.Oh well, actually several of my friends are grannies, so I guess it will be ok. ;)Actually, I’m just so excited!! That’s why I’m blathering.

  6. Congratulations Gramma! Being a gramma is so mush fun and you will be a fabulous one! Now we can go shopping for our grandbabies together. Love, Your Little Big Sis

  7. Oh Jan, YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will start praying today for a smooth pregnancy and delivery for Bethany. Have you picked a new name? Will it be Gramma or Gamma or Grandmother or Granny or MaMa or Gamma Jan? What an exciting and thrilling time for you!

  8. My new name will be Gramma Jan. I picked it at their wedding. One of the groom mans mom’s name was Jan and the grandkids called her Gramma Jan. I loved it and I told our kids that was my gramma name.They live only 15-20 min from us, depending on traffic.

  9. Oh, I’m soooo thrilled Jan! You’ll be the best Grandma ever. Can you believe this day has really arrived?HUGE hugs, e-Mom :~)))))

  10. Congratulation!!! What a blessing!! You are going to be a great grandma, mimi, grammie, ganma, noni……at least that’s what my 2 year old preschoolers call theirs.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

