The Shack by William P. Young – Review

There is no doubt in my mind that this is a powerful book. Will it change the way our generation sees God? I hope so. Our generation needs books like this to point us to the gentle loving God William Young portrays.

However, while this story is based on a true story, it is fiction and we need to remember that. Some churches are studying it in small groups. It’s a great discussion book for a book club, but I wouldn’t base a Bible study on it unless you are using scripture along with it. Perhaps Young will write a study guide at some point.

Though the topic and concept is excellent, the writing tends to lag a bit when Mack dialogs with the trinity.

Is it as good as Pilgrims Progress? I don’t think that’s a fair comparison. It’s like comparing Jane Austin’s Pride and Prejudice to Karen Kingsbury’s Ever After, both wonderful books, but very different. John Bunyan’s Pilgrims Progress is suitable for children. However, I wouldn’t read The Shack aloud to my children due to the brutal kidnapping and murder of a young girl.

An anointed book about the power of forgiveness and the merciful love our Heavenly Father. If you haven’t read it yet, you don’t know what you’re missing.

11 thoughts on “The Shack by William P. Young – Review

  1. Can’t wait to read this book. I love books! It’s on my wishlist for things I want to buy! 🙂 Your abortion tag on the top of your blog is so powerful by the way. I was just thinking about these statistics the other day. Have an awesome weekend!!!

  2. Randi Jo – Just wanted to suggest that you check your local library for The Shack. Our library didn’t have it, but I requested it and they ordered it for me.

  3. Hey, today is the last day of the contest! I can’t wait to see who wins! Thank you for your congratulations about my son’s engagement! We are so excited! I would love to hear any tips/advise you have in this department! I want to be a good mother-in-law!Have a great week Jan! Sharon

  4. Jan, peeking in on you from Flea’s comments. I just posted about this book myself. I agree with your take on it. For me, it was a wonderfully moving book and a beautiful portrait of how God loves us. But, I don’t know about a small group study either. If our SG ever read it, I would want someone like our pastor there to keep us on track and keep people from reading the fiction as scripture. Good stuff, though!

  5. It no longer amazes me the ignorance of so-called Christians. This book is filled with heresy and no one here seems to recognize it. There is only one way to God the Father, and that is through Jesus Christ. Young, who once claimed to be a Universalist, says God will come to humanity through many religions. That is a lie. God sent His Son to die on a tree, and there is only one true church. That is the church that places its faith in the only Redeemer: Jesus Christ, who shed His blood for the sinner. All religions outside of Christianity are false religions that will lead their followers into hell. Wake up people.Rev. Dr. G. R. Diehl

  6. Diehl, I do not appreciate flaming on my blog – especially from someone who espouses to be a Christian. You fail to site any specific details where Young is using a Universalist view point. Furthermore, I don’t see any heresy in this book. The main point of Shack is that we can all have a personal relationship with God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit. If you find that offensive, then I am truly sorry; for you will always have religion rather than a true relationship with God, and while you might make it into heaven, your life here on earth will be just a little bit short of hell.

  7. Amen Jan! This was a fantastic book! I LOVED IT! A few things for the critics to keep in mind:1. The book is F-I-C-T-I-O-N. It wasn’t written to be a witnessing tool, though there are ways it could be one.2. I think the author was saying that God draws his people to himself and they come out of all walks of life and faith…not that all paths lead to God. Mr. what’s his name -oh yeah – he didn’t leave it, needs to do his homework. Mr. Young has said on several occasions that he is not a universalist. It’s called google, or better yet read his blog or website. Know what you’re talking about before you set yourself up as judge and call people “So called Christians”!

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

