Stay Out of That Box

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.

-Romans 8:1 (ESV)

Even though Paul wrote this in the Spring of A.D. 57, it isn’t hard to imagine him sitting in front of his window and listening to the Holy Spirit as he writes. He was likely in either Corinth or Cenchrea at that time, on his third mission’s trip. Paul writes this letter to the Roman church to prepare the way for his journey there. Both Jews and Gentiles attended the Roman church and the Jews felt judged by the Gentiles who didn’t understand why they felt the need to observe the old dietary laws and sacred holidays. They wanted the Jews to step into their box. Through this letter (Romans), God reveals His plan for Jews and Gentiles to worship together in harmony, without condemnation.

At this present time, without regard to what has transpired before, there is no disapproval, strong censure of reproof. I am no longer judged unfit because I am in Christ Jesus. I have His power and grace. I know who I am in Christ and how He values me.

This passage is beautiful in its simplicity. I do not have to accept condemnation from other Christians or the enemy. I have grace and freedom in Christ Jesus. When condemnation comes my way, I’ll examine the source. What or who is making me feel this way? Conviction is not the same as condemnation. Conviction is a check in my spirit to correct something. Condemnation makes me want to crawl under a rock and hide.

This verse speaks life and freedom to Christian’s for all time. Though we may not have the issues of the Roman church, we face our own issues. Is someone trying to fit you into a box? Memorize and reflect on this verse. And stay out of that box!

Thank you Father, that we don’t have to carry the burden of guilt, shame and condemnation. Thank you for your grace and mercy. Help us continually walk in freedom and grace- free from the chains of condemnation. In Jesus precious name, AMEN

5 thoughts on “Stay Out of That Box

  1. thank you for this post…and I pray that the Heavenly Father will help me to stay out of the Box, and walk in freedom and grace.Mimi

  2. The power of Grace comes in the fact that God comes to us where we are, but He refuses to leave us there.You have a gift for the right words, and you are thoughtful. I love reading your blog.

  3. Thank you so so so much for the comment on my blog & Praying for Candy! I’m so excited to have found you! I can’t wait to “dig in” to your blog more! I’ll be back soon! 🙂

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

