At the Foot of the Cross

I went to the cross today, on a little hill on the outskirts of town, with some of my closest friends. It was peaceful at the foot of the cross. Quiet, reflective silence greeted us. I heard the wind playing in the pines before it reached my face. Yet, I hardly noticed as I felt the caress of the Son.

The cross is so much more than a religious symbol or an icon of piety. It’s precious to me because it’s where my savior gave his life for my sins. Isn’t that amazing? Jesus gave His life for me! And He did it for you too!

Thank you, Jesus, for your sacrifice.

Thank you for your grace and mercy.

Thank you for your love.

But the fact is, it was our pains he carried- our disfigurements, all the things wrong with us. We thought he brought it on himself, that God was punishing him for his own failures. But it was our sins that did that to him, that ripped and tore and crushed him- our sins! He took the punishment, and that made us whole. Through his bruises, we get healed.

-Isaiah 53: 4-5
8 thoughts on “At the Foot of the Cross

  1. Dear Jan, It is very hard to watch, but I am sure you can get through it. It does make a huge impact on you. I am so sensitive to what people go through, it is really hard for me to watch war movies too. After I watched Saving Private Ryan, it haunted me for a long time. I hope you can watch it this year, it will give your Easter even more meaning. Virtually hugging you my friend, Sharon

  2. Sharon, When we saw Saving Private Ryan, I kept my eyes shut most of the time. Violence really disturbs me and the thought of anyone doing that to my Lord is almost too much to bear.

  3. Thank God for Resurrection!! It feels good knowing that when I mess up, I won’t have to find a goat to sacrifice. I can just go to Jesus on bended knee.PS – You’ve been tagged.

  4. I love the Isaiah quote. It’s so true, our disfigurements, not his. So much love the Lord has for us!!Thanks for the reminder.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

