Waiting for Wings

“But those who wait upon God get fresh strength. They spread their wings and soar like eagles, they run and don’t get tired, they walk and don’t lag behind.”
Isaiah 40:31 (MSG)

I don’t like to wait. To be completely honest, I find it especially difficult waiting on God because he has such an unusual take on time. So, I get impatient waiting on the things He’s promised to come to pass. I’d rather to run determinedly ahead so I can feel like I’ve accomplished something. Then God spoke to me, “Waiting is an accomplishment.” One simple sentence clicked everything into place for me.

I know that when I wait on Him, I am refreshed, not harried. He can see things that I can’t – so He makes His decision based on what’s best for me. Even though I long to soar, waiting for my wings is accomplishing discipline in my spirit. I don’t enjoy being an eaglet who hobbles around trying to make it happen in my own tired strength. I’d rather soar with God’s fresh strength. I long to run without getting tired and walk without lagging behind. So I choose to wait on Him with longing in my heart, anticipating the day when I can leap off that mountaintop and soar with His fresh strength.

5 thoughts on “Waiting for Wings

  1. I, too, love to forge ahead. Waiting has never been my strong point, and sometimes waiting on His timing seems like an eternity. But, I realize that He has so much more for me than I can accomplish or even think of on my own.I like what you said, “waiting for my wings is accomplishing discipline in my spirit”. I like that. We need God’s discipline in our spirit and lives.

  2. I agree that God’s perspective on time is so frustratingly different from mine. However, I love the gift of hindsight and how we can see His continual working in us when we look back over time. Perhaps patience is nothing more than living life day to day until you get to the point where you can look back and say, “Thank you, Lord, for the mighty thing you did while I was too busy looking at myself to see what you were doing in me.”

  3. Wow – well said – I want to know what will happen and I want to know now… I have been able – through much prayer to settle down and take this day, hour, minute slower – in His presence. I have been able to see things come happen in my life that I am so thankful did not go “MY” way but His… thanks…

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

