Are You Covered?


Have you ever felt like it was just you against the world? If you are a child of God, Jesus is always with you. You are not alone. How wonderful is that? This morning as you get ready for the day ahead, consciously think about God’s protection, the full armor of God.

“And that about wraps it up. God is strong, and he wants you strong. So take everything the Master has set out for you, well-made weapons of the best materials. And put them to use so you will be able to stand up to everything the Devil throws your way. This is no afternoon athletic contest that we’ll walk away from and forget about in a couple of hours. This is for keeps, a life-or-death fight to the finish against the Devil and all his angels.

Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.” Ephesians 6:10-18 (MSG)

Step on your flesh and step into your armor. Now you are prepared to face the day, you’re dressed for battle. Rest assured, the battle is raging whether you are aware of it or not. The enemy is exceedingly deceitful; he has a highly refined weaponry of lies and manipulation. Every step of faith is a battle. If you aren’t growing spiritually, the enemy is winning.

“When we put on the armor of God, we are putting on the armor of light, which is the Lord Jesus Christ (Romans 13:12-14). When we put on Christ, we take ourselves out of the realm of the flesh, where we are vulnerable to attack. Satan has nothing in Christ (John 14:30), and to the extent that we put on Christ, the evil one cannot touch us (1 John 5:18). He can only touch that which is on his own level. That’s why we are commanded, “Make no provision for the flesh’ (Romans 13:14) that would give the devil an opening for attack.” Dr Neil Anderson, The Bondage Breaker

Do you struggle with reading your Bible, studying great books like The Bondage Beaker or going to Bible studies with the meat of the word? The enemy will use all the weapons in his arsenal to keep you from growing, including causing car accidents, fights with your spouse or children, illness, discouragement, and the list goes on and on. Are you covered? If not, step into your armor and wrap yourself in God’s protection.

9 thoughts on “Are You Covered?

  1. I have been meditating on the armor of God lately. Do you realize that all but one of those things are actually for our protection? I feel we forget that we are in a very real battle and God wants His protection around us.

  2. Mel – we do forget. It’s so easy to get complacent. That’s why I was led to write this. Megan – Someone once told me if you aren’t being attacked, your doing something wrong. I guess you’re doing it write then (pun intended). (((h)))

  3. Jan, AMEN!! I like that my part is to put His armor on and then STAND FIRM! I don’t have to attack or do battle in the sense of me aggresively fighting the enemy. I just have to stand in HIS POWER!! God is my defender. Thanks for a great reminder.

  4. The Bondage Breaker is wonderful! Chuck and I read the first chapter today. It made us see so many things we have been battling, yet we didn’t have our armor on. Great post.

  5. Thanks for this great post. This has been on my mind lately because the evil one has been so active in trying to keep me from my weekly women’s Bible study. My healthy kids are suddenly sick the morning of the study. My husband, who stays with my youngest daughter while I go to the study, will suddenly get a call for a business appointment on Tuesday morning. It gets tiring and frustrating, yet I am encouraged in knowing that Christ fights this battle for me and all I have to do is stay strong in Him. Satan may mess with my schudule, but he can’t change my heart or my love for my Lord! He can not erode Christ’s protection over me.

  6. Thanks Jan. I needed this so much. To be reminded I cannot fight this battle alone. Since I learn things the hard way, God allowed me to sink to the lowest and most shameful place, only so He could slide his fingers under my broken body and lift me.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

