I Still Choose You! – Marriage Monday


For other Marriage Monday participants, click here.

Valentines Day is one of my favorite holidays, second only to Christmas. While Christmas is for families, Valentines Day is for lovers. Single or married, if you’re a couple, Valentines Day is a celebration of your love.

We commemorated our first Valentines Day with a deluge of valentines. Nearly every day, we sent valentines to each other. In the days before internet, cell phones and text messaging, our hearts spanned the distance with love filled letters and cards.

However, my most memorable valentines day was in 2004. Big milestones of change were happening; our daughter moved out the previous spring, our son was about to graduate high school, we’d downsized our home and we were approaching our 21st anniversary. Suddenly, our kids were growing up.

“Don’t spend much money on Valentines Day this year.” My DH instructed, “We have lots of expenses coming up in March.”

I him bought a monkey that made kissy sounds and sent it to Greg at work. It was fun, but nothing compared to the gift he was about to give me.

It was a beautiful Colorado day, in the low 60’s. Even the sun beamed its approval. We headed to the steakhouse early to beat the holiday crowds. After we ordered, Greg handed me a valentine with Vegas tourist information in it.

“What’s this about?” I asked, confused.

“We’re going to Vegas!”

“Yeah, some day that would be great.” This was not the time for dreamy plans.

“Babe, we’re going in three weeks, for our anniversary.”

“But you said money was tight,” I responded with shock.

“The trip is paid for; all we need is spending money.”

I was speechless, which as you know, is rare.

“We couldn’t do our 20th the way I’d planned, so on our 21st, will you marry me again?”

I cried; I kissed him; I asked him a million questions. Even the flat tire our way home didn’t faze me. We were going to Vegas to renew our vows!

Unbeknownst to him, it had always been a dream of mine to see the Bellagio dancing fountains. However, the most meaningful part was when we renewed our vows. Just Greg and I, saying before God, “After all these years, I still choose you.”

19 thoughts on “I Still Choose You! – Marriage Monday

  1. Oh yes, I could use a gift like this! How sweet, how thoughtful.Thanks for sharing this special story with us!Blessings!

  2. Oh Jan,I laughed :)… I cried… Chuckled then sighed!! This is an awesome story. You guy is amazing. Thank you for sharing this with me today. I loved it.

  3. Fun and I am happy for you both. It is so nice to know that our husbands would want to choose us again… even after all the years and all the history. Thanks for your cool story.

  4. Ohhhhh, what a wonderful story. This is so much fun–better than a “chic flick!” You have a wonderful man. And HE is blessed to have you too.Just a reminder to vote for next month’s topic, if you haven’t already. Thanks for joining us for Marriage Monday today. :~D

  5. Thank you all for your kind words of encouragement. I’ve really enjoyed this months MM. Please check out the other entries, there are some gems in there!

  6. Oh my goodness! How romantic! What a sweet, wonderful, loving surprise he gave you! You are so blessed to be married to such a wonderful man! Congratulations! Yea for true love!:0) SharonYou look so good in the picture….va, va, va voom!!!

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

