Crossroads, Not My Will

Crossroads

I’m at another crossroads again. I imagine I’ll be here for a while. Sure, I could plow ahead on the path I think I should choose. But I’ve done that before with bad results and I now understand the futility and frustration. I want God to show and direct me. I want His will and not mine.

His will is not the path I would naturally select, given my circumstances and perceived inadequacies. However if it truly is His will, He will give me the strength, wisdom and understanding to do the task set before me. He knows the big picture. He knows all the circumstances and He knows what is best for me.

On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night. Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings. My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me. Psalm 63:6-8 (NIV)

Not My Will

Speak to me Father

Give me your thoughts

Mold me into the woman you want me to be

Give me faith where I have unbelief

Give me courage where there is fear

Impart obedience and humility

When my stubborn pride demands its way

Give me peace during uncertainty

Not my will but yours

-JBP

9 thoughts on “Crossroads, Not My Will

  1. It’s so encouraging to hear someone else struggling with the same thing I do. It’s so easy to feel alone in hearing from God, in making decisions and waiting on Him. Sometimes other Christians make it look so easy, make decisions seem so simple. Thanks for being real. 🙂

  2. Oh………. I love your blog and I will come back daily….. I have been at the crossroads and have gone the wrong way and it took years for the Lord to undo the harm …… I have learned that when standing still at the crossroads…..He WILL direct my path………..

  3. Amen! Thanks for sharing! The Scripture verse you mentioned is one that my kids learned to song and of course I can’t read it without singing it 🙂 I appreciate your wisdom or should I say your sharing of the wisdom God has given you.

  4. Ton – (((h)))anon – you sound so much like my mom.Hynson – interesting how we all seem to be on a similar path. Coincidence? Nah. I think God puts us together to encourage one another.Monday – change is not easy especially if we’d gotten comfortable.flea – I don’t know anyone who likes to wait. I think this is the stuff we need to talk about to encourage one another. Some just don’t like to show vulnerability. Denise – what a beautiful picture on your profile! Welcome and please do come back, we’d love to have you. Making the wrong choice is such a waste of time too, the older I get, the more time seems to slip away.Robbie – waiting is tough but He is there with us and that really helps.Robin – Yes, the insight is all from Him.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

