Xtreme Spirtual Makeover

I asked God what he had for me in 2008 and at first, He said “New Beginnings.” Great. I was good with that. But then the beginnings began and I wasn’t as happy as I should’ve been. I mean, He did warn me.

Last night, while watching Extreme Home Makeover, God told me that He was about to do an Xtreme Spiritual Makeover. Ugh. I know what that means. The renovation will not be fun. God began to remind me of my attitude towards vacations. If anyone asked me if I liked to travel I would say, “No, but I love to vacation.” In other words, I don’t enjoy the journey. I hate crowded airports, fast food and long car drives. I’m not a road trip kind of gal, but I love seeing new places and the excitement that comes with it. Then He told me that He was taking me on a long journey and He wanted me to enjoy the ride. It’s going to take a lot of prayer, but I think that’s the point.

The last few weeks, I felt like the bottom was dropping out of my world. I grieved, I cried and I threw a spiritual temper tantrum. I know; you’d of thought I was over those about forty years ago.

Tonight, during Bible study, Jackie said something about leaning into turmoil and not fighting it. On the way home, I remembered my youngest twenty years ago, when he was two. He was mad because he didn’t want to leave the park. I was taking him to a better place, but he didn’t realize that, so he threw himself into the sand. Wreathing in fits, the sand got on his face and into his mouth. That was me- sand in my mouth and angry with God for taking me to a better place.

I get it now. I’m leaning into Him. I know that He’ll probably have to carry me most of the way ‘cause I hate road trips. However, with a lot of prayer and my hand firmly in His, I may just start to look around and enjoy the journey.

For More on journeys read: Heathers blog, Niki’s blog, and subscribe to Soul Scents newsletter.

13 thoughts on “Xtreme Spirtual Makeover

  1. And what a journey that will be with Jesus guiding you! He will supply your every need :)Much love to you and thank you for your thoughts and prayers for my trip last Saturday.

  2. Hi Jan,I just submitted a lengthy reply and it disappeared…but I’m excited for you in your journey and the coolest thing is God invites each of us to take part in our our Xtreme Spiritual Makeover. Its not limited to just a few. Wow! Lets have joy in the journey!

  3. This is good stuff, Jan, and goes along with what I’ve been experiencing and what I’ve been hearing from people all over the world.Thanks for mentioning Soul Scents, too.

  4. Your post makes me think of being at an amusement park. The spinning rides I love, all other rides I hate. But I find that if I get on some of the ride that frighten me the most, just close my eyes and let it happen, it’s not so frightening and I can get through it. I have to trust that I’m not going to DIE. Even though it feels like I am. Granted, I walk funny when I get off, but I feel braver at the end.

  5. I was thinking that when the Lord gives us a “Makeover” it can be painful at times..but I find that the change in me over time is sometimes so painless..it is like effortless change. I pray, I love, I seek, I build on our foundation and as I do this day by day God changes me without me really seeing it till later. It is SO good. I think I make change harder than it has to be…I am practicing trusting him more and being more teachable and pliable.

  6. God might take you out of your comfort zone, but the good thing is He will be there for you. Enjoy your journey! I hope to hear more about the new beginnings.

  7. I’ll be praying for you!You can read posts from the beginning of my latest makeover if you go back to my March/April posts.These deep down overhauls are painful, but what an opportunity to experience the fullness of God’s Grace!

  8. Ugh. Journeys of the soul, clearing of the cobwebs, so painful, SO necessary. Know that you are not alone. I believe there are more of us called to these journies than are willing to commit. Look for the polaroid moments my friend, and keep leaning. L

  9. Have you ever seen anyone in a wind tunnel? If they try to stand upright, they get blown over. If they lean forward, they can fly. 🙂 Lean! Or better yet….LEAP!!!

  10. Jan, What an awesome post! I can relate to what you are saying. I actually never thought of the difference between traveling and vacationing, but it totally makes sense. I agree that having a spiritual makeover or getting pruned is not at all comfortable, but so worth it in the end! You have grown and you have fruit! I pray that your journey will be a wonderful experience and that you will lean into God through it and arrive at your destination with a smile on your face!God bless you Jan! Sharon

  11. Jan, I finally had time to do your meme. I took the liberty to make a banner for your meme with your picture! I hope that is okay! Any way, come on over to read why I think it is great to be me. This was a very good exercise for me to do and I want to thank you for that!Blessings! Sharon

  12. I loved your post. May God bless you in your journey. I too, dislike being disciplined, but I’d rather have the Lord teach, train, correct, and prune me than learning it any other way. He always does take us to a better place. I’m looking forward to my journey ~ as long as the Lord is holding my hand. I am going to do your “It’s Great to be MeMe.” Thanks for sharing. ~ Kathi

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

