Great to Be Me MEME


Today is one of those days I need to be encouraged. As I discussed in the last post, sometimes I like to say, “It’s great to be me.” Not because I’m so full of myself, but because I’m trying to take my mind off the chaos that is going on in my life and focus on the positive.

Like today, I don’t want to dwell on the stuff that’s broken in the house, the rash on my back, the fact I may not be able to get a dog due to my allergies, the wrong person being elected president or that winter seems to drag on and on… Instead, I am going to focus on the positive, the reasons why “It’s great to be me.” I started this a few years ago and every time I said, “It’s great to be me,” it reminded me to count my blessings so I am going to list all the reasons I can think of why it’s great to be me at this very moment. This is an official Bold and Free Meme. I’m tagging Niki, Kay, Danica, Deena, Tonya, Robbie, Jerri, Susan, Paula, Flea, Megan, Hynson, Sharon, & Mel. Consider yourself tagged if you’d like to play along.

1. It’s great to be me because even if I can’t have a dog, I have two grand dogs and a grand cat.
2. It’s great to be me because I have a wonderful family, with four adult children.
3. It’s great to be me because I have a wonderful husband who is a gift from God.
4. It’s great to be me because we have three living parents who all seem to be in good physical health at the moment.
5. It’s great to be me because we have a beautiful home – even if there are some expensive maintenance things that need attention.
6. It’s great to be me because we are going to have two warm days before it snows again.
7. It’s great to be me because I know that God will ultimately place whom He wants in office.
8. It’s great to be me because in spite of my allergies, I’m in good health.
9. It’s great to be me because I have some great friends online and here in Colorado.
10. It’s great to be me because I have peace and quiet right at this moment to write.
11. It’s great to be me because I live in a fabulous country and state.
12. It’s great to be me because I have so many new and exciting things to look forward to.
13. It’s great to be me because I cleaned the house this weekend so I’ll have more time to write this week.
14. It’s great to be me because I went through my “Keepsake” file and read all the cards and letters from last year. What wonderful memories.
15. It’s great to be me because when I’m done posting this, I’m going to read my book and relax with some hot chocolate.

This picture was taken earlier this evening.
Duke and his parents stopped over for dinner. Isn’t his hoodie cute?
14 thoughts on “Great to Be Me MEME

  1. His hoodie is very cute. 🙂 Do you find yourself allergic to the Yorkie? They’re supposed to be allergy free dogs.I’m so glad you’re you! God has blessed you with health and a home and family and friends! Thank you for writing this meme. And thank you for tagging me!God bless you, sister!

  2. Oh ..that lil baby is so sweet!!and you forgot to say it’s great tobe me, cuz I am a BEAUTIFUL childof God.You are sooooo wonderful. I’ll be mosthappy to play this tag..it’s too fun!!lovingly, deena

  3. Oh Jan, what a great idea! Thank you for sending your Meme my way! I do want to play, but probably won’t be able to until Wednesday on my day off. I have my next two day’s posts planned, so I’ll do your meme after that. This is a great idea to count your blessings and from reading your list, you do have a lot to be thankful for!Hugs, SharonP.S. Your little grand doggy is so cute!

  4. Flea – unfortunately, yes. Even though he only weighs 3 lbs. My allergist said there is not a non-allergic animal unless you get a snake. Ewww! Even the buildup in a fish tank causes allergies.Deena – you’re so sweet. I’m anxious to read yours.Sharon – :)No rush. Have a happy Monday. Dawn – I should’ve tagged you. Wanna play?

  5. Jan, I hope your day has been full of encouraging moments, but just in case, here are a few 🙂 1. Grandpets are like grandbabies – the great thing about them is you can borrow them to love on and then send them home for the daily upkeep. 🙂 2. Those grandbabies you would like will be so precious in God’s time. 3. It’s nice to have friends of all shpaes, sizes, – bloggers, bikers, – they fill our lives with smiles and sometimes allow us to experience adventures through their stories that we might not otherwise have. 4. And, of course, there is John 16:33 where our Lord himself says “in this world you will hvae tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world. Praying your feeling better; and playing along. L

  6. It’s great to be you because everyone loves you!Thanks for tagging me! I’ll put it up tomorrow.

  7. Jan, You are absolutely one of the nicest most open people I know. It is a honor to count you as one of the people God has put in my life!

  8. Great idea to post on why its great to be you! We all need to do this because oftentimes its easy to do the woe is me line of thinking when things aren’t going well – great idea to switch it up 🙂

  9. That is a new way to count your blessings–it is coming at it from a slightly different perspective–the perspective of me ;-). I will have to participate a bit later–Sharon tagged me. When I get some time I will do it;-)

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

