Dream Interpretatation – Dreams Part 5, 100th Post

This is my 100th post and I want to thank all my dear blogging friends for your continued comments and support. What a wonderful journey this has been. It’s been my pleasure to meet many of you, and I look forward to meeting those I haven’t had the pleasure to meet yet. Please look me up if you’re in the Denver area. May God bless you mightily in 2008.

Dream Interpretation

I started this dream series to share some of the things I’ve learned over the last year, and in the process, I’ve learned much more myself. I’ve noticed now that I am paying attention to my dreams; God has increased my prophetic dreams and their interpretations. My discernment is more in tune with His and I am able to hone in on my dreams and remember them long afterwards. This is what God’s shown me so far:

Not all dreams are prophetic. If I’m not sure, I write it down anyway and ask God for confirmation. If I don’t get confirmation, I release it and wait for the next one. The important thing is to keep an open mind. I’ve had dreams I was sure weren’t prophetic but they stayed with me all day, sometimes several days, until I finally asked God if He had anything for me in it. Usually the dreams I can’t shake are prophetic, even if they seem off-the-wall or outlandish.

Dreams don’t need to be earth shattering to be prophetic. Sometimes God is just confirming what He’s already spoken, or He’s moving me down a path I’m already on. Confirmation dreams are very encouraging.

God may warn you in a dream. Do not take a warning dream lightly or summarily dismiss it. God warned Joseph in a dream and He continues to use dreams to caution His children today. If you receive a warning dream, pay attention and heed the warning.

Dreams God gives others for you. Last July, my son came to me, “Mom, I had this terrible dream last night that you were pregnant but then I woke up and realized that it wasn’t possible.”

It may have seemed insignificant to him, but it was confirmation to me. I had also been dreaming about giving birth. The Lord was using this imagery to depict a ‘new birth.’ Pregnancy or birthing often represents change or something new. This was just about the time that I began Bold & Free.

When someone has a dream about you, ask God for confirmation. If it feels “off” or inappropriate, it probably is. God will always confirm a dream in your spirit and/or through The Word. Jer 23:25-32

More than one dream is usually significant. Are you doubting or struggling with something God’s speaking to you about? God often uses dreams to confirm or direct. When He called me out of my last ministry, I didn’t want to go. I couldn’t see what He was saying through my dreams because it went against what I’d already decided God planned for me. During this time of inner struggle, I continually dreamed about miscarriage. He spoke through my dreams to redirect my thoughts. Though I loved the ministry I was involved with, I had to be obedient to God. I see now that He was changing the direction of my ministry and paving the way for me to begin Bold & Free.

Be careful who you share your dreams with. Joseph was very young when he shared his dreams with his brothers and he encountered all sorts of grief for sharing with the wrong crowd. Yes, it was God’s plan, but I imagine he was a little more careful who he shared his dreams with after that.

God may direct you to share your dream with someone who needs encouragement. He may also direct you to share it with someone who can give you greater insight. Use discretion when sharing your dreams, especially if they pertain to others.

Your dreams language is uniquely yours. Unless you’re a farmer, it’s unlikely you will dream about stalks of wheat. He spoke to Joseph in his own dream language, just as He will speak in to you in your own unique dream language, with symbolisms you can relate to.

I often dream about computers. Since I’m a writer, my computer symbolizes my voice. So I know that if I am dreaming about a computer, God is talking to me about my voice or my writing. However, If I was a computer technician, my computer would probably represent my work or vocation. Likewise, if I dreamed about riding in an elevator, the interpretation would be completely different than if He gave the same dream to an elevator engineer.

If you dream about a symbol and God gives you its interpretation, the meaning will remain the same in all your dreams. This is why I strongly recommend keeping a dream journal. As you unlock each words symbolic meaning, dream interpretation will become easier for you. Remember God is the source of all your prophetic dreams and he has the interpretation. Don’t rely on someone else to interpret your dreams or even on some of the good Christian books I’ve listed below. Each dream book’s symbolisms are as different as the authors because they draw from their own dream language. (This is why I’ve chosen not to include symbolism in this post.) Depend on God for the answers

Don’t put a time limit on your dreams. Joseph was only seventeen when he had some life changing dreams. Even his doting father was skeptical. I wonder if young Joe was a little confused when he was sold into slavery. Yet Joseph remained faithful despite his circumstances. Many years later, he saw the fruition of his dreams.

I’ve had dreams and visions I know are for the future. When? Only God knows. Until then, I’ll listen to His voice as He speaks through my dreams or however He chooses to speak to me.

Further Reading:

10 thoughts on “Dream Interpretatation – Dreams Part 5, 100th Post

  1. Excellent thoughts Jan. I’ve journalled my dreams in the past, but lately, I’ve been too busy “thinking/doing” to pay attention. This is a good reminder to “tune in” as we approach 2008 and seek His direction. When you get a chance, please stop by for my New Year’s party! Hugs, e-Mom

  2. I often wondered about dreams and why God allows us to dream. I’ll have to check out your past posts and some of those books you recommend.

  3. I am looking forward to reading your previous posts on dreams. I have always believed that God would speak to us more often and more clearly if we would just be open to listening. L

  4. Jan CONGRATS on 100! You inspire me. So since I have been sick a bunch lately – I feel GREAT today btw – I have been engaging in a Lostathon! I have watched all the episodes from last year in preparation for Dec 31 when Lost season 4 begins. HOWEVER, my dreams are nothing short of WEIRD!!! I try not to read too much into it except that I need to be careful of what I am putting into my mind, especially right before bedtime. Do you think this has a huge effect on dreams, too? You da Woman!

  5. Congratulations on your 100th post!I find your post on dreams interesting. I know that He can use dreams to speak to us. But, I rarely dream. Most nights I am just too exhausted (I am sure there are dreams but I NEVER remember them).

  6. I’m really glad I stumbled across your blog today. I had a disturbing dream last night. Now I can’t remember it all but it was about someone I have conflict with that I am going to be spending a weekend with next weekend. I will have to pray about it.

  7. Robbie – Yes, what you watch and read before bed will affect your dreams so be watchful of that. But when God is speaking through your dreams, you won’t be able to shake it and it will keep coming to you mind.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

