The Story of My Tree – Wordless Wednesday

Even on the gloomiest daysthe story on my tree warms my heart.

My Daughters first Christmas. I made this when I was expecting. My son’s first Christmas.


If I was an ornament, I would look something like this…
Our first Christmas together.
This was made with thread as we couldn’t afford floss.
I made up a bunch of these to hand on the tree’s at both kids weddings.
Our newest family members have been added.
I made the pink beaded ornament and gave to Gramma the year she died.
The cross stitch angel my sister made for me.
What a season we had!My BFF Megan got me this for Christmas.
I made this bear ornament in the 80’s.
Below is a stained glass my daughter made in 2000.

Merry Christmas! May God bless and prosper you in 2008!
12 thoughts on “The Story of My Tree – Wordless Wednesday

  1. Hello Jan,Thanks for sharing your Christmas tree stories with us. :)The price of gas is terrible indeed. If I can choose, I would rather cycle than go yabba dabba do though. Too much effort needed there.:DSerena

  2. So pretty! Each and every ornament has a story here as well, I think that’s the beauty of the tree.Thank you so much for sharing yours :)~~www.ourwindowswideopen.wordpress.com

  3. My mother had special ornaments tied to memories as I was growing up, and my husband and I carry on the tradition. When we travel, we buy an ornament as a souvenier. Now with Kyle, we buy an ornament for him each year. This year he chose his own. He lunged for a red trimmed steam engine at St. Nicks. He carries it everywhere. I love the time we spend as a family reliving memories as the tree goes up.

  4. Jan could you e-mail me and tell me more about the pay to post thingy and how you got Megan’s book on your site? I’d like to promote her on my blog as well.

  5. My kind of tree! I have ornaments that my mother cross stitched for me when I was little. So sweet! Thanks for sharing..I like the pick with the tree and the snow in the background…beautiful!! Merry Christmas to you!

  6. I can’t wait to blog about our ornament for this year. I love when we put up our ornaments and talk about where we went that particular year. It is one more way we bond as a family, and for that, I am very grateful.Great post!

  7. Though I am not as creative as you with a needle, our tree does have some ornaments with special meaning. It is a haphazzard collection of gifts from friends and students, ones the girls made when they were little, and even one I recieved for being an attendant in my cousins wedding at the age of twelve – not sharing how long ago that was.

  8. Serena – I think a bike would be easier. danab – thanks for stopping by.d. – sounds like something a little boy would love. Inspired- đŸ™‚ I loved your tree with the purple tinsel.Mel – I love the traditions and memories Christmas brings. :)Charlene – umm yeah. Well, I’m a writer, what can I say. ;)Sharon – Blessings at Christmas!Hynson – I have one my son made when he was only 2, made from noodles. I also have a bell made from an egg carton my daugher made. There are some the more precious ones. Deena – its one you either love or hate. It glistens a lot more on the tree.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

