Marriage Monday

1st Monday Every Month at Chrysalis

Today’s topic is “What Makes a Marriage Christian?” We have a Christian marriage because we take our vows, a covenant we made before God, very seriously. It’s a lifetime commitment.

Like all marriages, we’ve hit some rough spots. There are times we’ve chosen to love each other when we didn’t really like each other much. If we hadn’t made the commitment to stay together regardless, we wouldn’t have made it through our fifth year or our fifteenth.

Our marriage has grown stronger because we’ve asked God to help us weather through the hard times. Many of our disagreements stem from the fact that we look at life from very different perspectives. While I can learn to understand my husbands thinking patterns, nothing will ever make me think like a man and visa-versa. I wonder how many marriage problems are actually gender related? “God help me understand this man you gave me,” I sometimes pray. And I know my husband’s prayers are similar. God, in his goodness, always answers our prayers and gives us insight and direction.

We willfully entered into the covenant of marriage before God and vowed “to have and to hold from this day forward, for better or for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish; from this day forward until death do us part.” We didn’t just add them to the wedding for the sake of tradition; we spoke them in the presence of God, our family and friends as a sacred vow.

Greg and I have changed a lot in the nearly twenty-five years we’ve been married. We’ve essentially grown up together. We gave each other the freedom to be ourselves, to change and mature. My favorite part of the day is when we sit down and talk about our day and make plans for the future.

I can honestly say the best part of my life began during a March blizzard in 1983, when my soul mate and I exchanged our wedding vows. I’m so very thankful that we’ve had God’s guidance and each other to navigate through the storms of life.

For where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God. And where you die, I will die and there I will be buried. May the Lord do with me and more if anything but death parts you from me.

If you would like to participate in Marriage Monday, click on the button on top and link with us!

Top photo taken at our son’s wedding this August. Middle photo taken in August as well.

15 thoughts on “Marriage Monday

  1. Oh Jan,Just a beautiful tribute to God in your marriage. I love the prayer and the comment you wrote about gender. I also think many marriage issues are gender related. Help me to understand this man I married is a awesome prayer. I think I will use that in a future post. Have a great day. Love and hugs, Lynn

  2. Hello Jan, Thank you for stopping by. I enjoyed what you had to say. I was unable to see where your give away was at.

  3. Oh, this was soooooooooo good!I love how you concluded it with that passage.How touching!Blessings to you,Susan

  4. Indeed, a Christian marriage is a lifetime committment before God.Congratulations for staying together for 25 years, and for thriving.I wholeheartedly agree with you on this point: I wonder how many marriage problems are actually gender related? “God help me understand this man you gave me,” I sometimes pray. When finally understood how differently men think and behave (especially when under stress) our marriage struggles began to evaporate. Eventually, I learned to enjoy our differences. Now I say, “viva la difference!”I read your tribute to your husband on his birthday. Very, very nice.Thank you for participating in Marriage Monday. Your thoughts were excellent. Big hugs, e-Mom

  5. One thing struck home, because we have done it also…we have CHOSEN to love each other , when we don’t really likeeach other.. and we have weathered many a storm.I can’t imagine my life at this time, with anyone else..God gifted hubby to me and I’m keeping him..fondly, Deena

  6. Oh Jan, I just loved this post. Yes, that covenant with each other is made with God and before Him. God’s the glue that holds marriage together. What a great testimony you have with your dear husband, and what a handsome couple you make 🙂

  7. Another great post Jan! I like the photos of you and your honey as well. I agree with your statement about when you know that walking away isn’t an option, couples are then more willing to work things out and get beyond those issues that are tripping them up. Brad and I went in to our marriage knowing that divorice wasn’t an option…there is alot of peace in security knowing you are with someone with that kind of a commitment. Thanks for giving us a peek into the relationship between you and your hubby.

  8. I love that ” Death parts you from me” that is commitment what so few married couples ever get to understand. Lord how I Cry out for those couples that they will all have the opportunity to be blessed with that soul mate the one God has for each of us. And to realize that you are truly blessed thanks this was definetly inspirational

  9. What a wonderful tribute to your marriage and your relationship with Christ. My husband and I were married in a March snowstorm in 1984. We made similar vows. It wasn’t until 1996 that we actually began a relationship with Christ, have walked with him in our marriage ever since and HE has led us on an awesome and amazing ride! One day we will say our vows again and wow will they have new meaning to us.

  10. Thank you all for stopping by my blog and leaving such nice remarks. Greg and I renewed our vows for our 21st anniversary in a little chapel in Vegas. I wasn’t expecting it to be quite so touching but it was incredibly intimate with just the preacher, God and the two of us.

  11. Jan, I am so blessed to have you in my life as a friend. But I really think that your kids are blessed to see their parents stick it out through tough times and choose to move forward. We don’t just live for ourselves we live for others. Great post

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

