Refiner’s Fire

Purify my heart
Let me be as gold and precious silver
Purify my heart
Let me be as gold, pure gold

Refiner’s fire
My heart’s one desire
Is to be holy
Set apart for You, Lord
I choose to be holy
Set apart for You, my Master
Ready to do Your will

Purify my heart
Cleanse me from within
And make me holy
Purify my heart
Cleanse me from my sin
Deep within

In one of those sacred moments; God spoke into my life through two people I didn’t know. I finally got what I couldn’t wrap my mind around before. God is refining me. During this long, painfully slow process, God is molding and shaping me into the woman he wants me to become.

It’s time for me to stop resisting and let Him carry me through this trial. Growing spiritually is not comfortable and I like comfort. Yet, understanding that I am in His will and following His purpose brings calming peace.

How many times have I sung this song? I didn’t fully understand the depth until now. While I loathe this process, I look forward to the deeper walk that will result from it.

What about you? Are you tired of resisting? Stop resisting and learn all He has for you in this deeper journey.

4 thoughts on “Refiner’s Fire

  1. I think sometimes the process of writing causes refinement from God to become clearer than during other endeavors. I think this is because the publishing industry is so slow, and you sometimes wait for months only to be rejected. The slow pace forces you to wait on God and submit yourself to His molding and direction. The refinement process IS painful, but an agent once told me not to try to rush it. She said, “Don’t try to hurry out of your coccoon because that is where a butterfly builds its strength.”

  2. Love this song Jan! We sing this at the summer camp I go to every year. Great comment Dianne. I’m not in that publishing process, but I completely understand the butterfly principal.

  3. Principle. HA HA And THAT folks is why I’m not in the publishing process right now…I type and hit publish before proofing. 😉

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

