A Contented Marriage

1st Monday Every Month at Chrysalis
Want this button?
Friday afternoon, I was at Starbucks with a few of my peeps when my DH called.

“I can’t think of anything better than calling when you’re having coffee with your friends,” he said. “I know you’re happy and having a good day.”

He repeated the sentiment a few hours later. What an awesome man God picked for me! I am so blessed. Like apples of Gold(Prov 25:11), his words touched me in a powerful way.

Saturday evening, we caught the last moments of Castaway. Helen Hunt says to Tom Hanks, “I always knew you were alive.”

“If I knew you were alive, I’d wait.” I told him. I mean, really, who could ever replace such a gem?

Yesterday afternoon, I was busy preparing for my mothers 70th birthday party. In order to seat everyone, we moved the kitchen table in the dining room, which left a large, empty spot in the kitchen.

“You didn’t know we had a dance floor in the kitchen did you?” he twirled me around the kitchen and held me close. His lighthearted antics lifted my mood just when I needed it.

Tonight, when I came home from Bible study, he was up waiting for me. We snuggled on the sofa and caught the last few minutes of a show we like to watch.

These seemingly insignificant events make up the bigger picture of a contented marriage. Is our marriage perfect? Thankfully, it’s not. How boring would that be? Imperfect as it is, tonight I’m contentedly thanking God for the gift of our marriage.

16 thoughts on “A Contented Marriage

  1. I’d like to meet this man! He sounds like a keeper. :~) My DH is similar… aren’t we blessed? Thanks for sharing your wonderful anecdotes, and for linking up with Marriage Monday. Blessings, e-Mom

  2. I love it when they say and act that way, don’t you? I am so glad to see a marriage that is real and loving. You both are a great example of God’s love.

  3. Lori – What a cute little tyke. 🙂 Thanks for popping in. e-mom – 🙂 very blessed. Thanks for hosting Marriage Monday. Megan – I want credits for any idea’s you glean for your next book. LOL.Ton – I smile every time I see that picture of you two younguns. Jessie – thanks for stopping by. You have a beautiful blog! Love the colors.Diane – thank you for your kind words. I enjoyed popping over to your blog as well.

  4. Oh Jan..Such a story of sweet romance..Gave me goosebumps to read it..I have a gem of a husband like that too..I feel SO blessed ..Rose of Sharon sent me to your BLOG..she thought you were just want I needed..she’s SO right..Enjoy the day the Lord hath madeDeena

  5. This was a lovely post. What a sacred romance! Thanks for coming by my blog way back in October. I got buried by rewrites and then a knee injury and THEN my brother’s house burned down. (All the details are on my blog.)I wanted to pop in and thank you for the comment though. I can just picture your purple sweater with the white fur. :-)Also, I’d love it if you subscribed to our infrequent, humorous newsletter. Stop by http://www.ashberrylane.net to do so.Thanks!

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

