Blanket Drive for the Homeless

Our Denver forecast calls for a low of 29. Jack Frost is nipping at the heels of fall and threatening to take over her remaining days. I feel chilled just thinking about the wondering souls on the street. Tonight, as I reach for an extra blanket, I’ll pray for those whose only shelter is a cardboard box.

I was a troubled teenager. Like so many on the streets today, I was sexually abused. One October night, I ran away from the parents who love me, and my warm comfortable home. My friend, Jill*, and I spent the night in sleeping blankets, on the greenbelt, just a few blocks from my house.

I learned a valuable lesson that night. Thankfully, I had a safe home in which to return. Many of the teens on the streets do not. I’ll never forget how the bitter cold seemed to permeate my entire body. I thank God for that experience because it softened my heart to the plight of the homeless.

I pray you’ve never experienced such a night. However, what if it was your sister, brother, daughter or mother? While we can’t eradicate homelessness, we can demonstrate the unconditional love of our heavenly father, we can show our concern and we can bring them hope.

Throughout the month of November, Bold & Free is collecting blankets for the local homeless ministry, Sevens. Many of you know my friend, Niki, through her blog, Sex, Love and Marriage, and My Journey. Niki and her husband, Benny, minister to the homeless on the streets of Boulder, in their own environment, just as Jesus would.

If you live in the South Metro area and would like to contribute to the blanket drive, please email me. If you live on the North side, please contact Niki. If you are not in the general area and would like to participate, financial contributions are always welcome through their Sevens site. Why not get your Bible study or home school group involved?

Below is a list of items we are collecting:

· Blankets – new or very gently used.

· Hand warmers – box of 40 at Costco is $15

· Ski gloves

· McDonald’s gift certificates – $5 increments

Tonight, as your head hits the pillow thank, God for His provision in your life and ask Him to protect those sleeping on the street. Thanks in advance for your generous donations.

*not her real name.

Photo art by Tonya Vander

Also picutred above, the Nowell family, founders of Sevens.

5 thoughts on “Blanket Drive for the Homeless

  1. Beautifully written. Last night I made a cocoon around myself with blankets and it felt so good. I want to help another woman feel that cocoon of warmth. Great idea.

  2. Thank you so much for making this your focus this month. I look forward to sharing stories with you and your readers about the teens and young adults we have known on the streets. We appreciate your support and your heart for those God has us loving.

  3. What a great idea. I would like to help more in my community. I feel like that has always been a calling for me and I think it is time I start doing something about it. Jan, I was wondering if you could stop by a fellow bloggers site to cheer her up. On October 24th she found out she has breast cancer and she has designed a blog to journal about it. I told her about you and how you have been so supportive with Breast Cancer. Her name is Deena and her site is deenasstory.blogspot.com. She is a Christian woman with a young family. Thank you! Sharon

  4. Jan, Thank you so much for using my art work for your homeless month. May God use all of us to help those less fortunate than ourselves.

  5. Darn!! I meant to bring some to WFTJ and totally forgot. I’m coming to the write away thing, is that too late? If it’s not, will you remind me? Please?

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

