Between a Rock and a Hard Place

But now, God’s Message, the God who made you in the first place,
Jacob, the One who got you started, Israel:
“Don’t be afraid, I’ve redeemed you.
I’ve called your name. You’re mine.
When you’re in over your head, I’ll be there with you.
When you’re in rough waters, you will not go down.
When you’re between a rock and a hard place,
it won’t be a dead end—
Because I am God, your personal God,
The Holy of Israel, your Savior.
I paid a huge price for you:
all of Egypt, with rich Cush and Seba thrown in!
That’s how much you mean to me!
That’s how much I love you!
I’d sell off the whole world to get you back,
trade the creation just for you.

Isaiah 43:1-4 (MSG)

This is one of those verses that gets me through the hard times. What is your favorite?

I am giving away a free hardcover copy of True Light by Terri Blackstock. Post a comment with your favorite verse written out with the reference and you will be entered into the drawing. Comments must be posted by Tuesday, Oct 2, 2007 to be eligible to win. No purchase necessary. Upon winning, you must be willing to email me your snail mail address to receive prize.

32 thoughts on “Between a Rock and a Hard Place

  1. ONE?!!!! Oh, you are funny today. I pondered as I do on the path (hee hee), and I think I shall go with Isaiah 61. I would take the whole chapter, but for sake of blogging brevity–1 The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me, because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, [a] 2 to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn, 3 and provide for those who grieve in Zion— to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair. They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the LORD for the display of his splendor. 4 They will rebuild the ancient ruins and restore the places long devastated; they will renew the ruined cities that have been devastated for generations. 5 Aliens will shepherd your flocks; foreigners will work your fields and vineyards. 6 And you will be called priests of the LORD, you will be named ministers of our God. You will feed on the wealth of nations, and in their riches you will boast. 7 Instead of their shame my people will receive a double portion, and instead of disgrace they will rejoice in their inheritance; and so they will inherit a double portion in their land, and everlasting joy will be theirs. I love this because I’ve been spiritually poor, I’ve been grieved,I’ve been in mental, emotional, and spiritual prisons,I’ve been captive,I’ve been heavily yoked with what wasn’t mine to carry;I’ve been in despair;I have been all of the negative things listed above.When those things hit me, I step onto this passage as a sure foundation, and I ask the Lord, “I know you have set me free. This scripture says so. What does the freedom look like so that I can embrace it and walk in it?” I have yet to find Him unfaithful to answer.

  2. Jan,You write from the heart and it is so encouraging!My favorite verse of all time is “You will show me the path of life. In Your presence is fullness of joy. At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore!”Psalm 16:11 (NAS)Living in His presence is the best place to be.Robbie

  3. Wow that is a good pix! Thanks for posting on my blog I didn’t think anyone was looking!You have some really good insight! I think God is using you in big ways! thanksArianaP.S what is tagging?

  4. Jerri – Just the passage I needed today. It’s like my life chapter. Awesome stuff. Thanks my friend.Robbi – your new photo is beautiful. Thanks for the encouragement. Another awesome passage. Maybe that should be your blog verse.Ariana – welcome. Thanks for the kudo’s. Please stop by again.

  5. My favorite verse for more than 40 years is Philippians 4:13 from the New King James: “I can do all things through Christ which strengteneth me.” This verse has made me stronger over the years and has kept me focused on Christ. He kept me strong through 2 serious illnessess in the past two years and saved my life in the process.

  6. Yes, it’s hard to pick one! I’ve chosen Psalm 19:14 as my personal life verse. “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD, my strength and my Redeemer.” Jesus has been and continues to be my strength and Redeemer! I’m so glad that nothing I do will change that simple fact.

  7. My Grandpa told me that he felt that God gave me this verse! It is dear to my heart!Jeremiah 1:4-54.Then the word came unto to me saying,5.Before I formed you in the belly, I knew thee and before thee comest out of the womb I sanctified thee and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations,Ariana

  8. Inspired: Awesome and comforting verse. Joyce: Welcome. Dramatic testimony. Would love to hear more.Susan: I love that one too!Ariana: Great selection.And now a special passage for all my wonderful friends who have been praying for us and have been so encouraging. God bless you all.Ecc 4:9&10Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work: If one falls down, his friend can help him up.But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!

  9. I have heard of others who have “life verses”. I think that is really cool. I tend to have seasonal passages, but one that I is an “always” verse is Jeremiah 29:11–“I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to do you good and not harm, plans to give you hope and a future.”That is rock solid character declaration of God. The enemy tries to accuse the Lord of being selfish, mean, or sadistic, and it is easy to buy into that when we are in the fire. This is what keeps me focused during those seasons when the Lord compassionately tears down the old and dead or the falsehood and it just looks crazy and feels painful. I may not get it, but God knows what He is doing, and what He is doing is for my good. Trusting that is where peace resides.

  10. This is one of my favorites.For the LORD God is a sun and shield;The LORD will give grace and glory; No good thing will He withholdFrom those who walk uprightly.Ps. 84:11

  11. Jan, thank you for coming by to visit and taking the time to comment….One of my favorite verses is First Peter 5:7: ‘Casting all your care upon Him; for He careth for you.’Have a blessed weekend…Betty

  12. Growing up I held onto Romans 8:28, convinced that all things would work out for my good and His purposes in the long run. Then I grabbed onto the vine passage. I wanted to learn to abide in Jesus and be filled with Him.Since starting the long road to book publication I have held onto Psalm 32:8 “I will lead you on the best pathway for your life. I will guide you and watch over you.”

  13. Psalm 37:1-4Do not fret because of evil men or be envious of those who do wrong; for like the grass they will soon wither, like green plants they will soon die away. Trust in the LORD and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture. Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart. A prisoner of hope,Megan

  14. Welcome Jeanne! Jerri, Betty, Paula, Tonya, & Megan thanks so much for sharing one of your fav verses and entering the contest. I love reading all these great verses throughout the day.

  15. “So take a new grip with your tired hands and strengthen your weak knees. Mark out a straight path for your feet so that those who are weak and lame will not fall but become strong.” Hebrews 12:12,13 (On learning discipline) I don’t know if this is my favorite, but I know it has given me renewed strength in recent months. Blessings to you friend!

  16. I couldn’t edit my comment, so I deleted and started over. My other “fallback” passage that I use when anything the Lord asks me to do looks “SO big” is Hebrews 13:20-21. It is packed full of power. In fact, maybe I’ll do a study of that one of my blog this week instead of taking up a huge space here. In short though, it says, “If I’ve asked you to do it, I have power to make sure you don’t fail. Just trust me and walk in peace knowing my character.” After we talked about it, my children decided they wanted to memorize it because they see the power and promise in it. I love it. Hebrews 13:20-2120May the God of peace, who through the blood of the eternal covenant brought back from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great Shepherd of the sheep, 21equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

  17. You have some terrific responses here! Wonderful verses.So nice to meet you. You might be interested to know that Marriage Monday has a new home. If you’re planning to share your marriage wisdom this week (open topic) I’d love to have you link up at Chrysalis.Blessings, e-Mom

  18. I’m loving all these verses. Thanks everyone for contributing.Danica and eMom – please post a verse to be in eligible for the drawing.

  19. Before I tell you my selection, I’d like to ask that you contact me at miralee@gorge.net. You left a comment on my web site about being an influencer on my new book releasing late this month and I’d like to discuss that with you. Thanks! MiraleeMy life verses have been Isaiah 61: 1-4, since 1988 when the Lord spoke to my dh and I about moving to Alaska. When I asked Him why in the world He’d ask me to leave my home, family, horses, business, etc…he gave declared that He wanted me to help bring light to the darkness of the area where He transplanted us. The verses followed not long after, and were my life line more than once. Here they are:1 The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me, because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, 2 to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn, 3 and provide for those who grieve in Zion— to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair. They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the LORD for the display of his splendor. 4 They will rebuild the ancient ruins and restore the places long devastated; they will renew the ruined cities that have been devastated for generations.

  20. jan,wonderful little place you have here!thank you for stopping by…I will post the crock pot pizza..lots of requests for that one…easy breezy!So many to choose from…my fave…Isaiah 58:10…”if you extend your soul to the hungry and satisfy the afflicted soul,Then your light shall dawn in the darkness, and your darkness shall be as the noonday.”just LOVE that one!!peace today, It’s so nice to meet you!peace,lori

  21. Miralee, One of my fav’s too. Looking forward to reading your latest release. Lori, Can’t wait to try that crock pot pizza. Isaiah is full of good nuggets isn’t it?

  22. Thanks for visiting my blog! It’s always fun to hear from someone new and besides that, an opportunity to possibly win a book! 🙂 Romans 1:1-2. Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God. And it continues on to more wonderful truths.Waving to Miralee – I live in Alaska, hi!

  23. I love the title of your blog! Bold and Free. That is one of my favorite verses you have listed on your blog. Also, it is for freedom, He set us free(Galatians 5:1) and where the spirit of the lord is there is freedom (2 Corinthians 3:17).Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog!Blessings,Angela

  24. OH, I hope I haven’t missed the deadline!My fave scripture is:Isaiah 40:31. They who wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings as Eagles. They shall run and not grow weary, they shall walk and not faint.I have to WAIT on the Lord, but my reward is soaring like Eagles. I can do this.

  25. Hi Jan,What a beautiful place you have here. I am crazy busy today but will be back tomorrow to read more. Please enter me. So very nice to meet you. Looking forward to knowing you more. Lynn

  26. Isaiah 45:2-7I will go before you and will level the mountians, I will break down gates of bronze and cut through bars of Iron. I will give you the treasures of darkness, riches stored in secret places, so that you amy know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, who summons you by name. For the sake of Jacob my servant, of Israel, my chosen, I summon you by name and bestow on you a title of honor, though you do not acknowledge me. I am the Lord, and there is no other; apart from me there is no God. I will strengthen you, though you have not acknowledged me, so that from the rising of the sun to the place of its setting men may know there is none besides me. I am the Lord and there is no other. I form the light and create the darkness, i bring prosperity and create disaster; I, The Lord, do all these things.

  27. By the way, I did talk to Jan about this. My name was only entered one time although I posted different “favorite” scriptures. This is exciting! I’ve never read Terri Blackstock so this will be new for me, and it’ll be perfect for our long road trip to see my in-laws.Thank you, Jan!!!

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

