Is That You God? (Dreams Part 2)

Listen carefully to what I’m telling you. If there is a prophet of God among you, I make myself known to him in visions; I speak to him in dreams. Numbers 12:6

In my early childhood, I learned that God no longer speaks through dreams. Therefore, I summarily dismissed my dreams as products of a fruitful imagination, until the summer of 1978.

At 5’11”, I looked older than almost fourteen, I’d already had my share of heartache, and I cynically asked God, “Is there a decent man left on this earth?”

I wasn’t really expecting an answer. However, that night I dreamed of a tall, dark hansom man with curly hair. God was saying, “Here he is – the decent man I’ve chosen for you.”

The following day I met this man of my dreams, who is now my husband. Because God spoke to me through a dream, I opened up my heart and mind to new truths and possibilities. Obviously, at fourteen, I didn’t marry him right away. However, God sent the dream to prepare me, just as he did for Joseph (Gen 37:5-11) in Biblical times.

If God doesn’t speak through dreams, that was sure a happy coincidence, I thought. After that, I began to pay closer attention to my dreams.

My sheep recognize my voice. I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27 (MSG)

When a dream is from God, I find I can’t shake it. I’ll wonder about its meaning throughout the day. God will bring it to my mind repeatedly.

My earthquake dream is a perfect example (see previous post). I felt the bed shake and it was very real, yet when I awoke, I was completely still. He repeated this dream three times to be sure He had my full attention. If God wants my attention, you can be sure He’ll get it.

I have several dream books, written from a sound Biblical viewpoint. Please be very cautious when buying books on dreams. For every good and perfect gift God gives us, satan has a counterfeit – there are many new age books on dream interpretation. The three I most often use are Dream On by Sandie Freed, Dream Languages by James W and Michal Ann Goll, and The Prophet’s Dictionary by Paula Price.

Recently, God has increased my dreams. Is He is preparing me again? As I listen to them, I write them down and pray for interpretation. The interpretation may come immediately, sometime during the next week or not for a long time. I don’t have the full interpretation for a few of my dreams, but God is working it out in His timing, not mine.

I’ll be discussing dream interpretation in part three of my dream series.

6 thoughts on “Is That You God? (Dreams Part 2)

  1. Jan,Your posts, have made me look back at dreams I have had. I am sure I just chalked them up to bad pizza, but maybe not. I look forward to the next installment.

  2. I can’t wait until your next post on dreams. I want to get those books you referred to in your post. Thanks,Lori

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

