Holding Onto God for Dear Life (Dreams Part 1)

Have you ever felt like you were hanging on to God for dear life? I have friends there now. In fact, a very dear friend gave me quite a scare this week. However, God in his mercy, never let go. He rescued her and then threw a party because he isn’t finished with her yet.

As I tap out this post, I know things are going to be shaken up. How do I know? I had a dream on the night of 9-11. Coincidence? Only if you don’t believe God speaks to us through dreams. He’s been speaking to me that way for as long as I can remember. I’ll bet someone you know has prophetic dreams and doesn’t share them. It could even be you.

On the sixth anniversary of September 11th, my sister and I made plans to work on our photo albums (scrap booking) before we even realized the significance of the date. Ironically, we had the same plans on September 10, 2001.

We didn’t talk about the attacks that night, though we talked about nearly everything else. Finally, about 1:30 am, when we could no longer stay awake, we went to bed.

Several hours later, I was jolted awake by a good size quake. It felt like a 5.0. I’ve lived in California so I’m familiar with the sensation. Once my breathing slowed down, I realized it was ‘just a dream’ and I went back to sleep. The second time, I was intrigued. By the third time, God had my full attention. The last ‘quake’ woke me at 7:30 so I didn’t figure there was a point in going back to sleep. Throughout the day, I prayed while I mulled it over in my mind.

I don’t have the full interpretation yet, however, I believe God’s given me a ‘heads up’ to prepare for things to come that will directly affect my sister and me (since it happened under her roof).

In the Dream Language book by James W. and Michal Ann Goll, this is their definition of earthquake: Upheaval; change (by crisis), repentance; trial; God’s judgment; disaster; trauma. Acts 16:26; Isa. 29:6.

About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the other prisoners were listening to them. Suddenly there was such a violent earthquake that the foundations of the prison were shaken. At once all the prison doors flew open, and everybody’s chains came loose. – Acts 16:25-26 (NIV)

The LORD Almighty will come with thunder and earthquake and great noise, with windstorm and tempest and flames of a devouring fire. – Isaiah 29:6 (NIV)

Now the reassurance – after the upheaval, the chains will fall off and God will come. He also gave me Psalm 91. It’s so beautiful I think I’ll print it out to pray aloud each day. With God by my side, there is nothing that He and I can’t handle together.

Psalm 91 (MSG)

1-13You who sit down in the High God’s presence,

spend the night in Shaddai’s shadow, Say this: “God, you’re my refuge. I trust in you and I’m safe!” That’s right—he rescues you from hidden traps, shields you from deadly hazards. His huge outstretched arms protect you— under them you’re perfectly safe; his arms fend off all harm. Fear nothing—not wild wolves in the night, not flying arrows in the day, Not disease that prowls through the darkness, not disaster that erupts at high noon. Even though others succumb all around, drop like flies right and left, no harm will even graze you. You’ll stand untouched, watch it all from a distance, watch the wicked turn into corpses. Yes, because God‘s your refuge, the High God your very own home, Evil can’t get close to you, harm can’t get through the door. He ordered his angels to guard you wherever you go. If you stumble, they’ll catch you; their job is to keep you from falling. You’ll walk unharmed among lions and snakes, and kick young lions and serpents from the path. 14-16 “If you’ll hold on to me for dear life,” says God, “I’ll get you out of any trouble. I’ll give you the best of care if you’ll only get to know and trust me. Call me and I’ll answer, be at your side in bad times; I’ll rescue you, then throw you a party. I’ll give you a long life, give you a long drink of salvation!”

How about you? Is God speaking to you through dreams? Share your story.

This is first in a series of posts on dreams. Stop back by for part 2 – How To Know if a Dream is From God.

9 thoughts on “Holding Onto God for Dear Life (Dreams Part 1)

  1. Your blog about earthquake and what it means just brought back a word I got from someone 11 months ago. Last year at the Feast of Tabernacles, a prophetic person told me that she saw the ground that I was standing on began to shift and she saw earthquake and the ground rising up and volcano’s erupting and overflowing. My whole year has been that way. Last year the Feast was the end of Oct and by Dec 1 my life began to change and it has not stopped yet. I am hoping that by the end of this month at the Feast that it is time for the birth of what God has planned. God has also given me Ps 91 for over the last year.

  2. Hi Jan,I loved your caption on the dog picture! Thanks for stopping by!I have lot’s of dreams. Sometimes I know I’m dreaming even when I’m in the dream. But most of the time they don’t make much sense. Yet…once or twice I have had a dream I felt might have been a small message from God.Since God knows I don’t trust my dreams, he talks to me more from his Word.

  3. Heather- Good to see you on the blogisphere. We missed you!Hang on tight-relief is coming.Deb – Praying for fulfilled promises for you. You’ve been through a lot this year. You’ve been shaken but the foundation is firm enough to hold you and a few others. Sharon Lynn – When God speaks to me through dreams, He confirms with His word or a prophetic word or both. Usually both. It’s taken me a while to learn to listen to the dreams and not dismiss them. Some dreams take quite a while to come to pass and/or understand. Thanks for stopping by. Quite a bold blog you have!

  4. I too, don’t trust my dreams, maybe I should. Thanks for posting the name of the book, I am going to read it, and hope it will help me with some of the questions that I have had about some of my dreams.

  5. Tonya – I am going to be posting more on dreams in a future post. I’ll look forward to further discussion on this.The important thing to remember is that everyone has their own dream language and we must seek God to give us the interpretation. He gave us the dream so He will also give us the meaning behind it. While I am certainly not an expert, God has taught me quite a bit over the last year as I’ve uncovered my own dream language.

  6. Jan, I’m glad you’re doing this. I’ve always had a hard time trusting which dreams are from God. I also appreciate what you’ve shared about upheaval. God’s been revealing to me that there’s a lot more that headed my way.

  7. yes God chooses to reveal Himself by different means and in various ways depending on the individual some once twice some three times ;]

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

