Laughter Is Good Medicine

Laugh Every Day,

it’s like inner jogging.
author Unknown

After a horrible day, it’s amazing what happens when someone makes you laugh. If laughter chases away the gloom, why aren’t we laughing more?

Laughter exercises our souls. When we laugh, our body releases endorphins that are natural pain killers. It leaves us feeling euphoric, as well as suppressing the stress hormone, epinephrine. Laughter discharges nervous energy, reduces stress levels, and physically and psychologically relaxes our body.

Laughter even exercises the cardiovascular system by raising and lowering you heart rate and blood pressure. It improves brain function by increasing memory and alertness, and increases oxygen in the blood stream, promoting healing. Additionally, internal muscles are strengthened as they contract and release.

I’m going to find ways to incorporate laughter in my life. I’ll watch a funny movie, make up jokes, or read the Sunday comics.

God created laughter for the benefit of our bodies. So, I plan to laugh loud and laugh often.

View the clip below for information on laughter clubs

Laugh off your calories. I’m not kidding! Vanderbilt University conducted a study that showed you can burn up to 40 calories by deep belly laughing for 10-15 min. I figured after a few hours with my Fav-five, we probably come out even with a cinnamon dolce latte and we are definitely lighter of spirit. Hey, it’s the new laughter diet club coming to a Starbucks near you!

I called a discount exterminator. A guy came by with a rolled up magazine. – Will Shriner

Why are women wearing perfumes that smell like flowers to attract men? Men don’t like flowers. I wear a scent called “new-car interior.” – Rita Rudner

You know, you get that tattoo of barbed wire when you’re 18. By the time you’re 80 it’s a picket fence. – Robin Williams

Did you know that American spent $48 Million on lottery tickets last year?
“What are you doing for retirement?”
“Uh, powerball.” – Wanda Sykes

Women don’t want to hear what you think. They want to hear what they think – in a deeper voice. – Bill Cosby

LEGO has announced that they are shutting down their U.S. factory and moving it to Mexico. LEGO employee’s say it’s their fault because they made the factory too easy to take apart and rebuild somewhere else. – Conan O’Brien

I constantly walk into a room and don’t remember why. But for some reason, I think there’s going to be a clue in the fridge. – Caroline Rhea

Clip below is Chonda Pierce on Menopause Parking. LOL.
8 thoughts on “Laughter Is Good Medicine

  1. Menopause Parking, LOL! You take a ticket with the row and parking spot, so you know where you parked! That is menopause parking to me!Great post, I might have to try to have a laughing class for the kids, what do you think? I know what their response will be, mother you are crazy!

  2. I’m reading the same *Reader’s Digest*. I love when they do the funny quotes! In fact, the quotes are the first thing I read in every edition, but there are so many this time. Fun!

  3. Hey JanI really enjoy reading your Blog, having a peak into your life and enjoying a positive perspective. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Jan, my husband and I were wandering around your blog yesterday, and I saw the picture of you laughing again, and I stopped and enlarged it on my computer and just stared at it.I LOVE that picture, and if I had taken it, I would have wanted it in one of my future exhibits because I think it shows such a beautiful heart of God–the one that laughs with the one He loves and enjoys His family with robust and excited love.Again, BEAUTIFUL!!!!

  5. Thanks Jerri – What a beautiful remark. My son took that picture. The two guys in my life seem to be able to get the best shots. I’d love to post the kids wedding photo’s but they don’t want to be on the blog.

  6. Tonya did the wedding pictures, didn’t she? I bet they are beautiful. Granted, I don’t know her personally, but I’ve visited her blog and seen her photography website, and from what I’ve seen, she has a wonderful way of capturing God’s heart.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

