An Excellent Afternoon

God has been speaking to me a lot about striving for perfection. I tend to like things to be neat and orderly. However, perfection is an unattainable goal and I will always be left feeling inadequate and less than ideal. Short of God, there is nothing without flaws.

I am careful not to confuse excellence with perfection. Excellence I can reach for, perfection is God’s business.” – Michael J. Fox

I’ve come to realize that perfection, while it may appear to be a reasonable goal, is a trap of the enemy. Rather than striving for perfection, I need to pursue excellence and relax as I enjoy my journey in this imperfect life.

God has blessed me with the friendship of a beautiful group of women and I treasure each one of them. I love hearing what the Spirit is doing as we strive to become bold and free women of God. If life were a chocolate cake, you women would be the cream cheese frosting. Life’s good without it, but much fuller and rewarding with it’s added sweetness.

As He tends to do, God is working with a few of us on this very topic. We get together as often as we can. This particular day was divinely selected and particularly timely as my son was getting married. I needed to hear this word: Excellence is life- Perfection is death.

If I strive to be perfect, then I’m not walking in true freedom. Freedom comes from understanding only God is perfect. No afternoon is perfect – but I’ve had many excellent ones with the Fav-five. I’m also blessed to have attended two excellent weddings this summer with each of my kids.

So raise your coffee with me in a toast to the pursuit of excellence. Leave all that perfection up to God ‘cause he has a handle on it anyway.

Pictured above: Sharen, Heather, Megan, Me and Tonya
Side note: Starbucks discontinued Cinnamon dolce lattes. See – nothing’s perfect.
5 thoughts on “An Excellent Afternoon

  1. Hey Jan,Just ran across this quote a couple of days ago: “Striving for excellence motivates you; striving for perfection is demoralizing.” Harriet Braiker Glad you had a great afternoon!!!barb

  2. I love cream cheese frosting! Another thing we have in common. I am so incredibly blessed to have you in my life! Our times are so dear to me. Love ya!

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

