Just Jesus and Me

At 7:45 tonight, I decided to go for a walk. Due to the time, Greg wasn’t interested, so I clipped on my Ipod and invited Jesus to come along. It was a magnificent experience. Each dog we passed barked in acknowledgement and I smiled broadly at every person on the path, after all, I was proud to be walking beside Jesus. With Portable Sounds to serenade us, I skipped, raised my hands in praise, twirled, ran and frolicked. Yes, I frolicked with Jesus and it was simply heaven.

“What’s this chick up to?” some wondered. But, I didn’t care because I was bubbling over with joy.

Jesus and I walked fast. We covered my usual path in almost half the time so I tagged on a few extra blocks because I couldn’t bear for the priceless moment to end.

When we got home, we sat on the front porch rocking, just Jesus and me. I told him my worries, asked him to help my kids, my family and friends. He was agreeable; after all, we’re walking buddies now. I praised him. I closed my eyes and enjoyed his presence. I lifted my hands and received.

Then, with stunning clarity, I realized that I could experience this every day. All I have to do is invite him. His calendar is always open, his line is never busy, and his emails don’t return undeliverable. What a gift his presence is.

8 thoughts on “Just Jesus and Me

  1. What a beautiful day with the Lord. He is a great walking buddy, isn’t He! He’s also great to invite to naptime. But I forgot, you don’t take naps do you? LOL!

  2. I am so glad you blogged about this! That our times with the Lord can be fun and enjoyable, not just humble and quiet!Bold and free is what the Lord is doing in your life, but also through you into others. Your a blessing!

  3. That is a wonderful thing. I am reminded of James 4:8a…..”Come near to God and he will come near to you”.He didn’t say he may come near to you, or at times he will come near to you….. He WILL come near to you. What a great promise, and what a wonderful Jesus.

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. - Psalm 34:19

